We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seascape Hotel
Save
You added Seascape Hotel to your Saves list
8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Before travelling we were concerned regarding the negative reviews however i am pleased to say we had no problems and enjoyed our stay very much. When travelling we have a bit of a checklist i.e. is the hotel clean - this hotel was spotlessly clean. Are the beds comfy - the beds are very comfy and we slept very well. Is there plenty of hot water - there was never a problem with hot water and the shower was very spacious and the bathroom very clean and bright. Are the meals ok - the food was very good with an evening meal selection of 3 starters, 3 mains and sweets. Breakfasts consisted of cereals, fruit juice, grapefruit, yoghurt, full english and toast and jam/marmalade. The dining room had marvelous views across the bay. Are the staff friendly - the staff are friendly and helpful, especially Steve who was our waiter and worked behind the bar he also helped out on reception out of hours - i consider this is good customer service that staff are willing to cover all areas (this does not necessarily mean the hotel is understaffed). The entertainment was quite good and enjoyed by a lot of the clientele particularly on Thursday when they were all dancing. We met some great people and i would not hesitate to go back. Overall the hotel is decorated in a traditional style although some may consider it dated. Our room did suffer from the squeaky floorboards but we did not have a problem with noise from other rooms and once residents were out of the corridors all was quiet. In summary we had a lovely few days in Torquay which didnt break the bank - the weather was great and sitting in the sunshine in the garden was bliss. i would advise anyone wanting 4 star to ensure they book 4 star. We were more than happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: some rooms do have a sea view and some superior rooms are available at an extra cost. we had a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do have a number of staff that can multitask here but as you say we see it as good customer service not understaffing, in this trade you do find that most hotels have staff with these qualities.
Thank you also for you comments regarding the cleanliness, as I have said on my previous responses the cleaning staff work do work tirelessly to maintain the high standards of cleanliness, that we and the guests expect today.
We do hope that you keep to your word and do indeed come and stay with us again! :)

Thank you again for your review.

Kindest Regards

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    36
    19
    19
See reviews for
22
82
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is understaffed and as such we found it dirty, the showers too small you had to struggle to get in ,and woe betide you if you dropped the soap,I admit I am not skinny but even a normal built human would find it tight, and if you wanted clean towels they cost 50p each per day. The beds were not made up properly daily and only pulled up over a creased up bottom sheet and mattress cover even after I complained they still did not make the bed up. The floor in the shower /toilet is vynl and there is no bathmat to step out on and can be slippy The meals were adequate but nothing to write home about, as most of the veg came out of the freezer and the remainder came from a budget shop ,the serving staff seemed overworked and were rushing about, The rooms were hot and the floorboards creaked so loud even through the night that as a light sleeper I found it hard to get a good nights sleep. One good thing was that the entertainment in the evening was good and the trip to Babbecombe theatre was excellent, I expect I will get the textbook reply from the owners saying that if I am not happy do not come again, but if they are not willing to accept that improvements have to be made then no-one will go again. On a final note when the reception is closed at 6.30pm the only point of contact is the barman however this gentleman must be the pride of the hotel he is helpfuf and nothing is too much trouble for him WELL DONE TO THE BARMAN, Wake up the management

Room Tip: Book in to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer

The hotel is by no means under staffed. This is the only review that says the hotel is unclean?! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and the staff work hard to ensure the standards are maintained.
Bath mats just have to be requested, as stated in the blue folder within your room. The towel charge only gets charged if you insist on having your towels changed daily! This was not the case and you were NOT charged throughout your stay, so fail to see why you felt the need to pass comment?!
The showers are a standard size.
On the beds we have a mattress protector, 2 x flat sheets 1 x duvet and duvet cover along with pillowcases and a throw, and can not see how they are not made properly?!
The veg gets delivered throughout the week from our suppliers and does not come from the freezer.
The staff on the restaurant are busy because of customer demand they work on a certain number of covers per staff member, and with the amount of compliments that the waiting receive on trip advisor and in the restaurant itself proves that they are more than capable of doing their job to a very high standard.
No text book reply here other than the fact that you have once again reverted to trip advisor to voice your concerns - an easy way out, you didn’t give us the chance to rectify any of your issues during you stay, unfortunately I can not make people stay more enjoyable once they have returned home.

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very tired looking hotel,room 28,2nd floor,so small,you can't swing a cat! shower so small you can't move,food only adequate,Room so hot,window only opens about 2inches,on main road,casino 2 buildings away,never slept for 3days,the noise all night was unbearable,far too hot to shut window,awful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately I can not do a great deal about the position of the hotel in terms or road positioning or the other buildings that surround the hotel!
The windows only have a small opening due to health and safety regulations that we have to abide by, we also can not help that the weather during your stay was really nice, hence the heat in the hotel/room/outside. So it seems most of your complaints about your stay were beyond our control and once again no comments were made during your stay??!!

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Seascape at Torquay. It was clean, the bedroom was adequate, the staff friendly and helpful but the restaurant staff and the food left a lot to be desired. The food was probably the worst quality and flavour I have ever had in my life and in my career I stayed at many hotels. The menus were the sort of thing provided in the 1960s with the ingredients almost certainly stored for sometime in a freezer. There was no fresh fruit or vegetables on the menu. By the end of the stay many guests, us included, ate our evening meals away from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, im sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food during your stay. The food we provide is based on the type of clientele the hotel attracts, it seems good old traditional food is the preferred dishes, we have changed the menus over the years but the call to revert back to the traditional dishes is always required.
You were the only guests that did eat out that particular week and no complaints were made to your server during your stay? The fresh veg is delivered to us throughout the week, Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, so do not spend a lot of time in the freezer?!

Kindest Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was an exceptional holiday in as much as the coach driver, service staff,unseen cleaning staff and bar staff were each and every one a gem.
Management were on the ball and all went well.
Not being mobile uch it was great to use the lift.
Great value holiday . My wife and I would recommend and wish a return ....soon !!!

Room Tip: Room 5 1sr floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much, for your review and such a positive one at that. Thank you for comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, and the management.

We always appreciate your kind comments and it makes our job worthwhile, its nice to know that the hard work the staff put in is appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was booked into via a coach holiday. When my daughter read the reviews here about the hotel she was very concerned about the quality and conditions. If you are after 5 star top end quality please do not book here, you will be disappointed. Yes there are “defects” with the hotel but it is an old building and if you want The Dorchester then you would need to pay The Dorchester prices. If you are after friendly staff and a hotel with a family / homely feel then you have come to the right place. I can only speak as I find, I certainly had no problems with the dinner, breakfast or the room during my stay. The coach arrived late on the first evening and i found all the staff very accommodating and willing to go the extra mile. I would welcome a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you are very right if you want 5* then 5* prices will need to be paid. We do not profess to be a 5 star hotel but we do provide excellent quality and service for our standard of hotel.
I am glad that you found the staff to be accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

lovely 3 nights stay ,food spot on am and pm .staff work hard looked after us thank you very much for the nights we stayed d day week end, ps the man who sing sat night was a bit dated. would we go back yes

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the food to the staff to be very good.

We do hope that you will return.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#32 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seascape Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.