We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seascape Hotel
Save
You added Seascape Hotel to your Saves list
8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
ayrshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great holiday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last year with Caledonian travel. The staff were lovely and helpful. The rooms were very clean, and the hotel is in a great location. Travellers might want to do a wee bit of research on their chosen location prior to booking, it is well documented Torquay is hilly!!, but public transport is very good. I have only recently joined tripadvisor, hence delay in review, but felt compelled to write this as too many people only post negative experiences and we would definitely return to seascape. Food is a bit basic, but you get what you pay for, and if you want 5* cuisine then you need to pay 5* prices!!. Thanks again for a great holiday, and we shall return :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and such a positive one at that. We are so pleased that a year later you still took the time to write about your experience with us. You are very right Torquay is notoriously built on 7 hills, however as you said our public transport is so good it really doesnt affect your capability of seeing the sights of torquay.

Thank you again for your review and we do sincerly hope that you do come and stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    36
    19
    19
See reviews for
22
82
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I’ve been reading these reviews of the Seascape for over 18 months now and have been desperate to add my twopennyworth. There is a very good reason, which will become apparent shortly, as to why I haven’t been able to do so. We were booked on a 5day 4night holiday in Torquay at the Seascape Hotel in Feb 2012 by the tour operator National Holidays. We immediately began to have the problems, which appear to have been experienced by many other guests at different times. We then requested a room change and were evicted from the hotel by the management. We had to find our own salvation. The conclusion of this sorry affair was that it ended in a court case, which we won. We were awarded all prepaid fees, the hundreds of pounds in court costs and considerable damages. I couldn’t report it earlier since I didn’t wish to affect the outcome of the court case by publishing any material. Having won the case that restriction no longer applies.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Following your email sent directly to me 2 x days ago i wasnt surprised to see that you had posted a review on here! I do hope that people do not take any notice of your review - 18 months later as it just seems a personal vendetta towards myself and the hotel. I would like people to know that the court case was not against the Hotel it was aaginst the Tour company and really had nothing to do with us!!!! The tour company did not want to relocate you to an alternative hotel of theirs following your departure from the hotel due to your very aggressive manner towards them, which is why you had to fund the rest of your stay in Torquay yourself!!!

I think that to sit here over the last 18months and read our reviews - most of which i would like to add are positive ones shows that you really have nothing better to do with your time!!!! I hope now that you feel some sort of achievement out of a small claims court you can get on with your life and leave the hotel alone.

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went on a short break with friends as part of a coach party, we saw it advertised at a reasonable price so thought we would just go and have break for a few days. When we arrived the staff welcomed us and were very efficient in giving out the keys, they did their best to give rooms on the ground floor to those who found difficulty with stairs. The restaurant was on a lower floor (the hotel is on a hill) but there is a lift. Our room (twin beds) was good for our needs, the beds comfortable, the TV works without bothering to obtain remote control from reception (£10 deposit - returnable on safe return of remote control). The bathroom a little small but adequate, plenty of hot water, and a good shower. Room service was good. The food in the restaurant was good for the money we paid and the waiting staff efficient and polite.. There was entertainment in the bar on Saturday night in the form of a lovely young lady singer (Caz) who not only sang but chatted to the audience and made the evening very enjoyable. In general a hotel of good standard at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor room make certain that your request is made in advance of arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and such a positive one at that. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff welcoming and efficient.

Thank you once again. We do hope that you will return to the hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from the seascape as part of a coach holiday. Meals good for price paid. They even put on entertainment, even though it was later in the season. What really surprised me was the cleanliness of the hotel. It looked clean (this then made me look to try to find anything dirty in our room but could not) . We had a room at the front of the hotel and although I am a light sleeper the traffic did not disturb me as the double glazing is very efficient. All of the staff we met very pleasant. Overall a good time was had at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, we do have an excellent housekeeping team that work very hard to maintain the high cleanliness standards that people like to see these days. I have passed on your positive comments to a very grateful housekeeping team.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I took a weekend break with Just Go which we now much regret although we must say the hotel is of an acceptable standard for 2 star accommodation. However rooms at the front tend to be quite noisy which we found disturbed our sleep at nights. Asking for a quieter room lead to a nasty and rude refusal which upset my wife and completely ruined our stay even our driver's intervention on our behalf led no were. I would recommend finding a nicer hotel there are plenty in our experience. Avoid

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am not surprised by your review however i am surprised by how you have reffered to our response to your room change as 'nasty and rude'. This was not the case at all. It was explained to you on numerous occasions that the reason a room change was not possible was because the hotel was full. You refused to accept this and was very rude and aggressive to my reception staff and told them that they could not do there job! You demanded to see management which was promptly arranged but again you refused to accept that the hotel was FULL, and you very rudely walked away from the conversation shouting that you were going to post a bad review on here.
We had numerous reports one of which was actually from your coach driver regarding your agressive manor. Infact the coach driver reported your behaviour to the coach company.

Regards

M Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We just had our first trip with National Holidays which use this Hotel, we read some reviews before we booked and must say some were not very nice but we thought we would try it anyway but not expecting much. We were really surprised when we arrived the staff handing out our room keys were well organised and cheerful, the hotel has only one lift and if you happen to be at the other end of the hotel you have plenty of stairs to tackle not good for older people , the staff did say if you need help just ask. Room was very basic but very clean we booked a double but got a twin, shower was nice and hot , you could have clean towels daily if needed ,its £10 for television remote which you get back you don't really need it just use control on television . The bar only opens at 5:30 , the food was nice with a basic choice nothing to rave about, for what we paid for 4 days we thought we did ok . The hotel is in a hilly position and can be a bit difficult for the infirm and on main road . The waiting staff in dinning room are friendly we were served by Billy who was very good and pleasant. over all we enjoyed our stay and would probably go on a trip there again .

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have sea view and some have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The coach comapnies are aware that there is only a lift in the main building and they should make people aware when booking that any low floor requests etc should be stated on the rooming lists, as we always ensure any special requests are catered for first. As you said we always do offer to help anyone who needs it all you have to do is ask and we are more than happy to help.

Torquay is notoriously built on 7 x hills but like you said the public transport in the area is very good and very frequent.

We do hope that you do come and stay with us again.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked here for 2 nights on the long holiday weekend. We reached Torquay around 3:00 pm and went straight to the hotel for check in. 

The parking bays at the hotel were full. So Debbie who was at the check-in, advised us to park in the long stay car park right infront of the Seascape Hotel. It is £4 for 24 hrs which is quite reasonable in Torquay. 

We had booked for a superior double room with ensuite bath along with breakfast. The sea-view room was beautiful & very spacious. 

The next day morning we got up early & got ready for breakfast. The breakfast time is from 8:15 am to 9:00 am which is a bit odd but was ok for us. The head waitress who came to take our order was very sweet (sorry, forgot to ask her name). My partner & I both ordered a full English breakfast (veggie version with eggs).  There was plenty of juice, cornflakes & tea/coffee to have, until our breakfast was served.

The hotel is at a walkable distance from town centre. But for pensioners & people with kids it may be a bit tiring, specially on the way back to the hotel coz it's quite a steep uphill. 

Overall... We found the hotel staff friendly & polite. Thank you for making our stay lovely. 

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and a very postive one at that. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The weekend you stayed was very busy with cars but as you said the parking facilities across the road is very reasonable at only £4.00 for 24hrs, when our car park is full.

The head waitress you mentioned is called Nula, i have passed on your positive comments to her! The reason with do 8.15-9.00 breafast is because we have coach tours in the hotel and they like to leave for thier trips between 9 -9.30am daily.

I am pleased that you found all our staff helpful & friendly.

We do hope that you come and visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#32 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seascape Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.