We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelled once again ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer Inn

The Buccaneer Inn
43, Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay, England
01803312661
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 264 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A great Pub that does excellent value and quality 'Pub Food' with its own twist. Winner of St. Austell Brewery 'Cask Ale pub of the year 2012'. Recommended in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2014.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excelled once again ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Yet another year has passed and we are here again with our springers coco and fudge .The Buccaneer is a brilliant place to visit whether for a drink or a tasty meal and the owners and staff are a credit to the place . The views are amazing and the best thing ever is that they remembered us and our dogs xxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    50
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
herts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

booked Sunday Lunch at this restaurant , always a gamble in case Aunt Bessie is in the kitchen but not here , great home cooked food succulent selection of meat and home cooked vegetables..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best pub in Babbacombe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in Babbacombe over Easter & used this pub on a few occassions. It's a really great pub which does exactly what it says on the tin. The bar is lovely & clean and very well stocked, staff are nice & friendly and the food good & wholesome. Sunday lunch was very busy & fully booked but nothing was off the menu. Dogs & children are welcome. When we return in August, we will definitely be visiting the Buccaneer again - recommend everyone to pay at least one visit if you're staying in Babbacombe or passing through.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Sunday lunch here is amazing, delicious meats and fresh vegetables and the best roast potatoes. We took my mother here after reading the reviews and were not disappointed, the owners are welcoming and friendly and their hard work certainly pays off! We would have no hesitation in recommending to others and we will definetly return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great pub for matchday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a great pub on the seafront. It was such a shame that it was awful weather, as the views would have been amazing over the bay. We stopped here for a few drinks and a bite to eat before the football. An excellent pint is served in this watering hole.

My husband got a plate of cheesy chips; they were delicious with plenty of cheese melted on top. We didn’t get chance to go back but would revisit in the future to sample the full menu. The landlord is very friendly to say that it was the first time we met him, made you feel like locals.

Both home and away fans welcome. On this occasion we were the away fans!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer Inn also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.