We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer Inn

The Buccaneer Inn
43, Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay, England
01803312661
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 264 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A great Pub that does excellent value and quality 'Pub Food' with its own twist. Winner of St. Austell Brewery 'Cask Ale pub of the year 2012'. Recommended in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2014.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently visited the Buccaneer for dinner and I have to say the food and service were excellent

This is a great pub in a wonderful picturesque location with a great selection of local food on the menu.

We will be back again soon as we were made to feel very welcome, this pub a credit to the management.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    50
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FAbulous Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Well worth a visit wonderful food my husband enjoyed his whitebait starter and the rest of the meal was fabulous. Just wish they were nearer. They were quick with serving every thing was hot and the staff very friendly. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Myself my dad and my two children 9 and 10 , thought we would give this pub a go we have to be careful as my daughter is celiac and can't eat wheat , barley , gluten bit of a nightmare when eating out. I have to say this pub was brilliant , before we orderd anything I explained that my daughter has celiacs and that she really wanted a roast dinner .Not a problem we do gluten free food and we have gluten free gravy ! Yay my daughter cried . The food was lovely the plates were warm and the service was great. We will definitely be going back .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Arrrrrrrrrr, where's me meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good and friendly service. Nice touch getting a pirates hat instead of mentioning your table number. Meals are of good quality. quick and efficient service. Piraty environment. Arrrrrrr.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Did not stay here but popped in for Lunch. Ideal location with plenty of seating inside and out. First impressions were clean, organised and welcoming. Menu was quite comprehensive. Food portions were generous, well cooked and presented in a way that you knew the experience was going to be favourable. Great value for money and well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer Inn also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.