We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere - nice busy pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kents

The Kents
1 Ilsham Road | Wellswood, Torquay, England
01803 292522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 255 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Seasoned traveller from Devon
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - nice busy pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Friends and I had a meal at the Kents (and a few beers) last night. I was pleasantly surprised when we walked into the place, it was busy and a bustling pleasant atmosphere. We were served quickly at the bar and allocated a table in the restaurant for our use when we were ready.
The beers were fine (Tribute and other real ales)
Three of us had whitebait to start, it was well presented and good quality, I followed it with a rack of ribs with sweet chilli sauce accompanied by a few chips, coleslaw and a small salad. It was well cooked, well presented and tasted good.
Staff were polite and available but not overly attentive.
Overall a good 'local' pub to visit not in the centre of Torquay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub and restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Kents is our local and what a great local it is! The staff are very friendly and the food is fantastic! The menu is excellent and there is something for everyone. The overall atmosphere is brilliant!! Well done Kents keep up the good work!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Value & Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We always visit The Kents for an early evening drink when in Torquay but this was the first time we had eaten there. The menu was comprehensive, packed with local produce and served nicely by charming waitresses, we both enjoyed the meal very much and will make it a definite return visit next year!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good pub fayre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

First time visitor and went with the kids who have eaten here before. Was quite busy for a Tuesday in Torquay but managed to find a table without having booked. Starters and mains were good (I had the Pea Risotto which was nice and 'fresh') but the desserts were very good indeed - Bakewell tart highly recommended. Service was okay for a gastropub. Would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great place to sample local ales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

a lovely friendly pub great atmosphere the staff were friendly and great at helping you choose which local ale to sample. a lot of people eating so food must be good too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kents also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Kents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kents, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.