We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyndale Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tyndale Guest House to your Saves list
Tyndale Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   68 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ25LF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct Up to 10% OFF
Ranked #12 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very accommodating - even let me in at 3 in the morning when I left my key at the sister in laws.

Breakfast was excellent and they even dropped me back at my sister in-laws to pick up the key

I would rate it as the best value b&b's I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale Guest House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
No trouble at all dropping you to your sisters, were glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope you had a safe journey back to london.
Regards Andy &Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
70
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently spent 6 nights at the Tyndale Guest House and would recommend it to others without reservation. The house is attractively decorated, super clean, and well maintained. Breakfast was a treat every morning. Be sure to try the scrambled eggs! The location is good, just a short walk from the Torquay seafront, and there is onsite parking for each guest room. Our hosts are cheerful and hard working. Their attention to detail really enhances the experience of their guests.

Room Tip: If you have more than an overnight bag, the ground floor room is the one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale Guest House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us,we really appreciate you mentioning how much you liked the ground floor room and the attension to detail that has gone in to it.
The donation that you gave towards the winter carnivals that we spoke about was put in to the collection at the bridgwater carnival, we done very well with the cart in the end this year thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights and loved it, nothing was too much trouble for Andy and we were made to feel very much at home. This guest house is sparkling clean and so cosy with really comfortable beds, next time we are in Torquay we will most certainly be staying here again. Please do not hesitate to book your stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale Guest House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely review. We are always happy to help where ever possible.
Hope to see you again in the future when you travel up from cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I chose the Tyndale Guest House for a short weekend break, we never expect alot from B&B accommodation but this B&B surpassed all expectations and will be our only choice for future visits!!! The property was extremely clean and well maintained, anything we required was on hand and the staff were more than willing to help. They even organised a delivery of flowers for my wife upon arrival, absolutley amazing and can't wait to visit again!!!!!!!

Thank you for one of the best weekends we have had...............

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We were happy to help by organiseing the flowers for your arrival and it is great to hear that you had a perfect weekends stay at our guest house here in torquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a 4 night stay at at Tyndale guesthouse Torquay. 
We would like to spread the word about just how great this place is! Honestly we couldn't have been happier! Everything that everyone else on here says about the fantastic service and very high standards of cleanliness and decor is true! 
  The guest house is in a great location! Just 10 minutes walk from the seafront! Less than 5 minutes walk from a local pub, newsagents, convenience store and chip shop. 
  The room we stayed in had great furnishings and lots of storage space with a wardrobe and many drawers.
The bed was  very comfortable & spacious (my boyfriend commented that his feet didn't dangle off the end like ours at home!) we were happy to have 2 large pillows each too.
 In room tea & coffee facilities were generous with lots of choice and biscuits (anything we used was replaced each day including the biscuits, milk, coffee and toiletries). Also the beds were made and room tidied every day which I would usually expect only every other day in other establishments (also great!) 
  The cooked  breakfast was great and it's true what people say on here about Andy and Dan going out of their way to do everything they can for their guests! On the first morning a guest at the next table asked for decaf tea, Andy didn't have any at the time but the next morning they had bought it for her especially!  What great service! :) 

We would just like to say thankyou to Dan and Andy for making us feel so welcome and ensuring we had a lovely stay! 
We hope to come back sometime because honestly when you have discovered the Tyndale guest house there really is no need to look elsewhere in Torquay! :) 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We can't thank you enough for your review, we try to do our best to make all of our guests who pass through the door feel as comfortable and welcome as possible. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were astonished to find a guest house that looks so immaculate. Our room was full of brand spanking new furniture of high quality, and all facilities are of the highest standards. Not only that, the proprietors Andy and Daniel are very friendly and helpful.
As for the food, there was no faulting it in any way! Full English breakfast was available, but also a vegitarian version, which was just as good. Also cereals, as much toast as you want, fresh fruit and biological yoghurts.
They even provided soya milk for one of us, as we have a lactose intolerance. If you had any more desires, they would gladly make sure to provide you the correct service,
The breakfst room is nice and in the direct sunlight, giving you that immediate holiday feel. Tyndale Guest House has made our stay very pleasant, even up to the point where Andy offered to take us to the train station. Thank you for that, Andy!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Owner at Tyndale Guest House, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely comments towards our guest house and us, they are really appreciated.
We are all ways trying to make our guests fill like at home and to provide them with the best service we can, It was great having you stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Andy & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tyndale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyndale Guest House

Address: 68 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ25LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyndale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyndale Guest House is superbly situated in the heart of the Tourist region in Torquay and within easy walking distance from Torquay sea front, harbour, railway, town centre and The English Riviera conference centre. We offer quality and comfort accommodation and we have a private off road car park for your use during your stay with us. Excellent public transport links are nearby and within walking distance from the front of the guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Tyndale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyndale Guest House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyndale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.