We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place by harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiraz

Shiraz
2 Vaughan Parade, Torquay TQ2 5EF, England
01803 200 201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 264 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: English, Italian, Continental, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We are a friendly continental cafe bar located at the heart of Torquay harbour side. We offer a large selection of food and drinks and boast two spacious outdoor seating areas.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice place by harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

due to the cold weather we sat inside Shiraz where the service was very good, drinks a bit pricey but its good in the summer to sit outside by the harbour we have eaten there before meals really nice... the only complaint I have is the toilets! I went in & had a spooky experience!! I'm not sure if the owners read this but if you do I'd love to know if anyone has mentioned ghosts in the ladies toilets before

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    13
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Lovely atmosphere sitting outside on the harbour, drinks and food reasonably priced, and all cooked to great quality.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What more can i say than worst meal ive ever eaten ,had mixed grill everything was over cooked ,hard burnt or fatty ,wife had hunters chicken ,cheese wasnt even melted ,,definately won,t return!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just the ticket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I wanted an inexpensive snack for an evening meal and was attracted to Shiraz by the two (enclosed) flaming torches blazing outside. It was a cold evening so no-one was occupying the alfresco seating and it wasn't immediately clear that food was available.
A friendly answer to my enquiry led to drinks and a tasty plate of scampi and chips. Well cooked and nicely presented with a small salad and more than enough tartare sauce.
I was dressed for outdoors and didn't take my coat off because with the dining area open at the entrance it was none too warm, however that did not detract from my enjoyment.
If I am in the area again I would certainly consider revisiting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“worst meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I dont like to slate restuarants but this was really poor, the food was restauarnt prices but really poor quality my daughter had fishcakes served with a white wine sauce these were iceland shop (20 in a bag of 1.99 style) quality and it was covered in french dressing when we asked if this was the right meal they just said that is how the sauce comes from the packet but this meal was £9.99 we had 2 other meals that I wont go into but they were dreadful we complained and they gave us a bottle of wine however our bil for three came to £42.00
this cannot be due to having a bad day but being greedy with prices, when you pay £10 for a main course you expect quality

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiraz also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiraz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.