We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small ground” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plainmoor

Plainmoor
Plainmoor Ground, Torquay TQ1 3PS, England
01803 328666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 70 things to do in Torquay
Attraction details
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
179 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Small ground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Torquey v Pompey 26th October 2013. No beer in the ground so went to "boot and laces" beer was expenses and service was slow. Burgers in the ground were horrible and not cheap. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Makes a change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Being on holiday and missing a home game on my season ticket at Nottingham Forest I deceided to cheer myself up and visit Plainmoor to watch Torquay V Mansfield. This is a nice little ground for a nice little club which deserves more support from the locals to keep it going. The toilet facilities are clean although a little sparce. There is a food hut serving the usual football food which means you can smell chips throughout the game. Before the game Gilbert the Gull does a wonderful dance in the centre circle...!!! Watching football here when you dont really follow any of the teams is pleasurable and relaxing. Football quality is not great and I must admit that this was the first time I have watched someone take a free kick and kick the ball out of the ground..!!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“plainmoor is horrendous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I live in Paignton which is neighboring towns with Torquay. I support Plymouth Argyle FC and thankfully I have only got to visit this terrible stadium, in fact it isn't a stadium it is a ground with stands, and is horrendous. The food is terrible, half the ground is standing, the toilets are portaloo's and the team, Torquay united are the second worst in Devon. The only time it is good to visit Plainmmoor is when Plymouth Argyle visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton abbot
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great place to watch football, for familys fans and all who enjoy football”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Over the past few years plainmoor has grown into i think one of the best lower league grounds in the country, the new bristows bench finishes off the ground and there is not a better viewing stand in the country... im a pop side fan and love to stand to take in all the atmosphere of the game and the fans there really show there support for Torquay, the games in div 2 sometimes are more exciting than the premier games as this is real footy not touch football as the game is going...this weekend the gulls secured there place in the league with a nail biting match against bristol, the game itself was exciting and 2 sets of fans showing each other rivalary respect(apart from a few idiots)

i take my 12 year old daughter from time to time and she loves the atmosphere there and being able to shout and sing as the club has a real good feel good factor towards the kids(the fans of tomorrow),the only club that do familys better are Watford.next year is going to be another excitng one and I urge more people to stop watching the tv football and come and watch the real thing... in our newly finished ground

ive also a friend in a wheelchair and they have great disabled section too

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Small and basic football stadium.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Torquay United vs Bradford City 01/04/13. Away fan facilities consisted of standing area behind goal, very clean toilet building behind stand, and a food/ beverage van. Small ground, general lack of atmosphere. Stewards were good humoured and engaged in friendly banter (re: Torquay keeper Rice's bright orange shorts) with a smile. Plenty of parking nearby. Nil response to our e-mail & telephone hospitality-package info. requests.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plainmoor also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Plainmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plainmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.