We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fireworks meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macaris Italian restaurant

Macaris Italian restaurant
17 Victoria Parade | Harbourside, Torquay TQ1 2BB, England
01803295627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 264 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“fireworks meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful 2 hours, lovely coffee to revive us, excellent meal and a firework display in the harbour, well done. We will recommend you to Torquay bound friends. Conrad and Liz.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    25
    16
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bland food with unimpressive atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ate here the other week Oct 13 and found the food tasteless to say the least, the subway around the corner might be a better option!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Recommended by a passing couple!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A passing couple waved into the restaurant as they walked by. "Is it good?", I asked. "Yes", they said, so in the three of us went. Not busy; service very attentive. Wide menu choice - impressive joint starter platter; salad and spaghetti mains good; ravioli less so. We had no room for dessert! Attractive view over the harbour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream sundies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good service and good ice cream sundies but they had run out of fresh strawberries so we had to have our second choice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a pleasant evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I can genuinely say I have never felt so welcome at a restaurant. The service from the beginning was friendly and accommodating. Special menu requests were accepted without hesitation and extra sauce provided without even asking - a lovely touch! The food was excellent and arrived very promptly. Despite being the last to leave the restraurant we were not rushed along but instead treated by the owner as welcome friends.
We had a lovely evening and would recommend to anyone. We wish Emelia and family the very best for the future. You made our last evening in Torquay a fond memory!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macaris Italian restaurant also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Macaris Italian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macaris Italian restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.