We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chippy I have tried in years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paul's Plaice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Paul's Plaice
170 Barton Hill Road, Torquay TQ2 8HN, England
01803 327 857
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 266 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best chippy I have tried in years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Massive portions of well cooked fish and chips. No colley here just great cod. Even though its away from the tourist area its popular.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Chippy in the south West!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Never been to such a popular chip shop- no need to advertise as its reputation carries itself- and so it should! The food is fantastic, fresh fish and delicious chips and meats, the portions are the largest and overall great value for money as it also seems to be the cheapest iv seen. Would always go again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“lovely fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

nice friendly chip shop, anything is always fresh and not long waiting times on "cook to order items" staff very friendly and service with a smile, the shop it's self is clean and tidy with parking right outside.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a top class chip shop and in our view one of the best chip shops around as the food is fantastic, portions are large and overall great value for money,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Took a chance in this takeaway after arriving in Torquay much later than anticipated on the first day of our holiday. all I can say is these have to be the best fish and chips I've ever had! Chips had a lovely crunch to them. Portions more than large enough for a man and enough for mum and younger child to share. Fish was battered lovely and skinned as well as boned which meant i could enjoy both sides of the batter. Enjoyed so much we actually visited again before our week was up. Great, friendly staff (even if the nana comment was a little too much info! ...but very funny!!)

HIGHLY recommended if you are visiting Torquay

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul's Plaice also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Paul's Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul's Plaice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.