We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orestone Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Orestone Manor to your Saves list
The Orestone Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rockhouse Lane | Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frome, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a lovely weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

One of the best weekends i've had,a murder mystery dinner last september, drinks and dinner lovely, murder mystery great fun, staff very friendly and helpful.enjoyed swimming in outside pool, our room i loved views over gardens and sea. Room had a small sitting room as well as bedroom, bathroom was nice with shower and bath. Cant wait to come back

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
134
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have visited the Restaurant at Orestone Manor on several occasions, both for lunch and dinner and have always been extremely happy with the occasion. A friend had asked us to arrange a dinner at "anywhere of our choice" within a few miles of Torquay and Orestone immediately sprung to mind and what an excellent choice it proved to be. We were a little concerned to see the parking areas very full when we arrived and quite a large party sitting in the reception area having drinks. The restaurant was obviously extremely busy. However the service was as quietly relaxed as ever and we experienced no delays. The food was excellent, as was the wine and the atmosphere. We had asked to eat in the Bistro Area because we actually prefer the ambience there, which, once again, was great. A most pleasant evening was rounded off by the arrival of a small beautifully decorated Birthday Cake, an extremely thoughtful touch that made our friends day even more special. The owners of Orestone Manor have filled a gap in the market in the Torquay area and should be congratulated for so doing. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a 2 day short break in September on our arrival a warm welcome and during our short stay the staff were very attentive at all times. The food is excellent and the views were lovely. Quality luxury break that we would recommend .

Room Tip: "Ask for a sea view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights from the 7th September having found a deal from Off Peak Luxury which included dinner on both nights (3 course al a carte) breakfast and a welcome drink (we chose champagne as we were celebrating our engagement). We stayed in Room 4 (see my photos) which had sea views, 4 poster bed, his and hers sink and a lovely slipper bath. The room was large, bright and cosy. The staff were fantastic. Waiting staff were attentive, chatty and polite and knew a lot about what they were serving and the drinks they had at the bar- definitely try some of the local ciders and wine they have some from only 20 miles away. Food was amazing. Local produce cooked to perfection- fab chef! All in all a wonderful stay at a small hotel (12 rooms in total I think) and a real english home from home feel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Full of character and warmth, this hotel was unbelievably good in many ways - room, view, service and very excellent restaurant food. Reading other reviews it seems like a good experience in this hotel is fairly usual. We will look to return again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were treated by our family for a one night get-away Gourmet evening and chose the Orestone Manor for convenience. Its in a lovely quiet location with the most beautiful gardens.
We were greeted in reception by a most pleasant young man who showed us to our room. The room was probably unique in shape and design, but I suspect all the rooms offer something different in this interesting old house. We enjoyed a pre dinner drink on the terrace overlooking the gardens and the sea, and placed our dinner order in the lounge. There was a good choice on offer and the food was a delight, as well as being piping hot.
I think the staff at this hotel go out of their way to be pleasant and attentive, and together with the relaxing décor and charming atmosphere, I could do nothing else other than recommend the Orestone Manor. I must also say that it was impeccably clean which is a further credit to the house keeping staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose the Orestone because we got engaged on Watcombe Beach 55 years ago. It is a lovely place to stay and our room was enchanting.
The family who own the Orestone make guests really feel at home and the meals were good.
The only criticism we have is that the "background" music dominates and makes conversation difficult. It is not the kind of music suited to the ambience of the hotel. Even though I am a musician I would rather have no music at all and just the murmur of human voices if it obtrudes.
It might even stop us going back there for we did ask it to be turned down!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the Victorian balcony....but it does have twin beds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orestone Manor

Address: Rockhouse Lane | Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orestone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the coastal road from Torquay to Shaldon this Georgian retreat is set in landscaped gardens near Torquay and offers some of the finest accommodation and dining in South Devon. Stylishly refurbished as a Boutique Hotel, the Orestone provides comfortable, luxurious rooms, a bar bistro and an excellent restaurant. Located in the rural village of Maidencombe on the fringe of Torquay, it has stunning views across the Torbay coastline and Lyme Bay. From afternoon Cream Teas to a tempting Bistro Menu offering nibbles, salads, paninis and mains including locally caught fish and hand cut chips the choice is most satisfying. Alfresco dining can be enjoyed on the sun terrace with cracking menus and wonderful views. An award winning restaurant provides a little more sophistication for lunch or dinner if preferred! The terrace and conservatory are perfect places for an impromptu break from daily life, no need to dress up – casuals and walking boots welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Orestone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orestone Hotel Torquay
The Orestone Manor Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orestone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.