We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, charming and highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orestone Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Orestone Manor to your Saves list
The Orestone Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rockhouse Lane | Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall into Winter offer
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Exeter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful, charming and highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My Husband and I held our Wedding Reception at the Orestone in October 2012. It was such a perfect venue - the hotel is lovely, the rooms are charming, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food was delicious, it was my dream wedding venue for an Intimate and stylish celebration. I highly commend this hotel to you for a romantic weekend away, or to celebrate your wedding. We look forward to returning for our Anniversary.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated. We chose the Horsley suite which is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
112
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The new owners (Neil, Catherine and family) have done an excellent job of trying to get this establishment (Restaurant with Rooms) back to where it rightfully belongs as one of the best hotels / restaurants in Torbay.
It is a pity the Trip Advisor reports seem to carry on when an establishment changes hands. The new owners have now been there for 16 months and have made significant changes all of which are excellent and now Orestone seems to be cared for once again!!!
The rooms are a high standard and the food and service are a high 2 rosette standard.
My advice is don’t believe anything older than 15 months = the reports since that time have all been good – we returned we were not disappointed, we will return again

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are best - only a little more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had been invited to a wedding by a long lost friend. Naturally, I accepted and felt honoured to attend. And it was a good thing I accepted because I got to spend 3 great nights in an incredible "boutique" hotel with amazing staff. So, I checked in during the evening and encountered a warm, friendly atmosphere in reception. This hotel has history and you could tell, by the configuration of the rooms that it had belonged to someone of substance in the past. They only have a handful of rooms so the staff remember who you are. My room was very nice and extremely comfortable. As was the bathroom, complete with golden taps. The lounge was something quite special complete with functioning fireplace. Cognac in hand, you could simply drift off in the warmth. The ambience is relaxed yet quietly elegant as demonstrated by the staff's penchant for excellence and their attentive service. Whether it be someone ironing your shirt in an emergency or providing deep, detailed insight about a rare brandy, the staff do it with professionalism and care. The wedding reception was held here in their dining room and it was tremendous and the food was outstanding. An excellent, joyous atmosphere had easily evolved and it was supported by the hotel's capable staff. The following morning, you were greeted with a jaw dropping view of the bay from your room and from the breakfast room. The staff set out a whole variety of breakfast food to which you help yourself. However, I would strongly recommend the cooked breakfast as all of it is naturally sourced. Beware that it is quite filling! I even ventured out for a short run and encountered the steepest of descents down to the cove and the hardest of climbs on my return. Running in this area is not for the faint hearted! I had a wonderful time here and am grateful to the excellent staff for helping to make a great occasion even greater. Thanks goes to Laura, Neil, Craig, Cassy, Chelsea and the barman who sold me and the groom that scintillating brandy. Ahem. Have a great Christmas, you all deserve it! To the reader: go here for an intimate, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orestone, Owner at The Orestone Manor, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review
All the team are delighted to know they played a part in making your stay so comfortable and memorable.
Great to know you appreciated the charm of the place.
Neil and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Was here for a wedding and we took over the hotel ...the staff were lovely and very helpful ..the food was amazing and loved the decor ...cant fault this place ...definitly recommend for a special occasion

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Orestone hotel after they hosted our wedding ceremony and breakfast.

The hotel staff are friendly, attentive and knowledgable. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, its period features, log fires and soothing music create a luxurious and relaxing ambience.

The locally sourced food is cooked with genius simplicity, and is complimented by the staff's knowledge of wine and their diligence to ensuring your experience is the best it could be.

The rooms are spacious, warm and exude luxurious comfort. We stayed in the garden room, the views out to sea are breathtaking and the romantic setting would sit comfortably in a film such as 'Bridget Jones' or 'The Holiday'.

I really could not over compliment the staff and the hotel for making our stay perfection.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Orestone and what a fantastic choice we made in staying there. The room (no 6) was a nice size, with a huge bathroom and lovely balcony with a wonderful sea view.

There was a good choice on the evening menu, we tried Venison, Lamb, Pork and good old fish and chips and could not fault any of the dishes. Our only problem was that the size of the main course meant that we were unable to try any of the puddings!

One final comment must go to all of the staff we met and who looked after us during our stay. Nothing was too much for them and everything was done in a nice friendly old fashioned way which you don't often get these days.

We will definately visit again next year and thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

It was one of the most magnificent places I've been to. Interestingly, my immediate impression was it would be one of those old places which is good in bringing old times atmosphere but usually not comfy when it comes to practicalities. Orestone hotel proved me wrong. It really combines atmospheric -sort of 20s of 20 century - look with well-managed modern facilities.

The room we stayed in was quite small but looked exactly as promised on the website. Plus a few small details like a nice, quite wide, balcony with a small table and absolutely great chair, all very simple but feeling great and cosy. It was quite chilly for Sept and the heating was working - It is always a good sign for me as it implies the hotel really wants you to feel good and just doesn't assume you should be warm without heating cause it is Sept still. The double bed in the room was very convenient for me - quite firm mattress. Clean room, t/c and buscuits available, nice bathroom toiletries. The bathroom was fine overall, although the shower was not quite comfortable to use since it was made to fit the overall style and it was not possible to move or adjust its position. Yet minor inconvenience really.

The interior in the corridors are nice and add to the feeling of an old house. It is located not nearby the train station so you would need a taxi in this case, but on the other hand you find it hidden out of the main streets and areas, which is perfect for escape and relaxing break. From the common terrace you get a nice sea view (not very close but still). The hotel has some open space around, just enough to stretch legs after breakfast. But if you plan to walk there is a path to the sea.

Just a note that it probably suits more to couples or families who would like to escape noise and rush.

A separate remark on the meals. We had a dinner and breakfast there, and also afternoon tea. I can't reccommend it more to have all your meals in the hotel cause not is it absolutely delicious but also makes a very good deal (dinner and tea; breakfast included in the room price) comparing to what you can get in other places in the town. Homemade scones with Devon cream tea was truly the best I've ever had.

We came there for the Agatha Christie mystery murder dinner, and the play was very fun, too.

The hotel staff was professional and friendly, and I sincerely can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orestone, Owner at The Orestone Manor, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review, We all appreciate you have taken the time to write a review and your nice comments give the staff a great boost which drives us all on to make an even greater effort
Thank you from all of us at Orestone manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orestone Manor

Address: Rockhouse Lane | Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orestone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the coastal road from Torquay to Shaldon this Georgian retreat is set in landscaped gardens near Torquay and offers some of the finest accommodation and dining in South Devon. Stylishly refurbished as a Boutique Hotel, the Orestone provides comfortable, luxurious rooms, a bar bistro and an excellent restaurant. Located in the rural village of Maidencombe on the fringe of Torquay, it has stunning views across the Torbay coastline and Lyme Bay. From afternoon Cream Teas to a tempting Bistro Menu offering nibbles, salads, paninis and mains including locally caught fish and hand cut chips the choice is most satisfying. Alfresco dining can be enjoyed on the sun terrace with cracking menus and wonderful views. An award winning restaurant provides a little more sophistication for lunch or dinner if preferred! The terrace and conservatory are perfect places for an impromptu break from daily life, no need to dress up – casuals and walking boots welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Orestone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orestone Hotel Torquay
The Orestone Manor Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orestone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.