We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fascinating look back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kents Cavern

Kents Cavern
89/91 Ilsham Road | Cavern House, Torquay TQ1 2JF, England
+44 1803 215136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 70 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kents Cavern is by far Britain's most important prehistoric cave used by ancient humans for the last 500,000 years including Neanderthals and early modern humans. The caves are open every day for guide tours, 7 days a week with natural caverns, amazing natural formations, remains of mammoth, woolly rhino, sabre-toothed cats, an Ice Age woodland trail quest, nice shop and cafe with views over the Ilsham Valley. The closest hotel to the attraction is the Gleneagles, inspiration for TV's Fawlty Towers. We are 2km from Torquay Harbour and only 15 mins walk from the South West Coast Path and local beaches, well-known to previous visitors like Agatha Christie, Beatrix Potter, George V, Alfred Wallace and Charles Darwin. Perfect for a rainy or sunny day by the seas, winter or summer.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fascinating look back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

In Torquay for a dance weekend and looking for somewhere out of the wind and rain, we decided on the caves - as it turned out a great choice.Very quiet on a December Monday - apart from a delightful group of infants searching for Father Christmas (we heard the cheers when they found him) We were treated to a fascinating guided tour of the caverns. Weather then not as bad as anticipated, we took a bracing walk around part of the coastal paths with some spectacular views, finishing back at the caves for a pint and a pasty - very
enjoyable 4 hours.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentscavern, Owner at Kents Cavern, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi, I'm NIck Powe, owner of the cavern. Thank you very much for posting such a complimentary review of your visit to the caves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    325
    66
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cave and attraction in easy reach of Torquay Centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This attraction can be a little crowded at peak times but is very interesting once inside. Parking can be a problem

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have visited the caverns now about 6 times over the past 2 years or so. I have even brought neices and nephews down to Devon to visit Kents Caverns.

In all those visits the speech from the tour guide has never been identical despite having the same tour guide a few times.

I would recommend Kents caverns to everyone a great way to spend an afternoon in South Devon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Well there is so much to say The caves have so much to offer you and your family, packed with so much history and the guides really make it so interesting. The café also is very well run

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My wife is a mole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife is obsessed with caves, caverns, quarries, mines, and bunkers. I suspect she may be part Hobbit. We visited Kents Cavern on a whim on our last day in Torquay, and it turned out to be quite the highlight.
Neither my wife nor myself had even heard of the place until we were reviewing a map of attractions in the area, only to discover that it is of highly significant scientific interest.
The caves are a constant temperature all year round, and there is no need for thick jackets or jumpers.
Our tour guide, Chris, was very knowledgeable and very interesting. This was helped by the small size of our tour group. Thoroughly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kents Cavern also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Kents Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kents Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.