We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kents Cavern

Kents Cavern
Ilsham Rd, Torquay TQ1 2JF, England
44 1803 294059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 Attractions in Torquay
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really enjoyed visiting here as not been in many many years. Very interesting and the guide we had, Nina, was very good. An hour tour underground went very quickly. After a little worry at the start of being underground and it being a bit dark my 5 yr old son enjoyed it as well.

He was Interested to see the stalactites and stalagmites and the shapes in the rocks like the dragon and wedding cake !

Well worth a visit. As so much so see and it's so different being underground and imagining what it was like all those years ago. Also informative information outside of the caves on the history of their discovery and excavation. And some good stuff for the children to do searching for fossils in sand boxes and drawing around their hands.

Then lunch in the restaurant - excellent food. We pre-booked our tickets with cream teas and it was well worth it saving a few pounds to :D

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    300
    57
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great fun and very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went with freinds - this attraction is a trip down memory lane and very informative. Its a must if you are in the area. Cheddar Gorge - eat your heart out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Creepily Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very well presented by the guide, very funny, adapted to all audiences of all ages. Easily accessible. Some marvellous things to see including a dragon

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We did the ghost walk on Halloween and it was great fun. Very informative as well as spooky and funny at the same time. Stayed for a meal afterwards and it was excellent. Well done to all concerned.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wet, windy morning in Devon with 2 kids under 7......what a fabulous find! An hours guided tour with a very knowledgeable and humorous guide called Harry. All of us amazed to find such natural beauty hidden under our feet and to see the amount of fossils and history within our reach. Brought a lot of what the children had read and learned at school to life! To hear my 4 1/2 year old say "Mum that was epic!" meant it was money well spent. Great walks to be done after the tour and clean, we'll stocked cafe to boost energy levels! Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kents Cavern also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Kents Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kents Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.