We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love visiting these caves but not so sure about the sound and light bit at the start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kents Cavern

Kents Cavern
89/91 Ilsham Road | Cavern House, Torquay TQ1 2JF, England
+44 1803 215136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 70 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kents Cavern is by far Britain's most important prehistoric cave used by ancient humans for the last 500,000 years including Neanderthals and early modern humans. The caves are open every day for guide tours, 7 days a week with natural caverns, amazing natural formations, remains of mammoth, woolly rhino, sabre-toothed cats, an Ice Age woodland trail quest, nice shop and cafe with views over the Ilsham Valley. The closest hotel to the attraction is the Gleneagles, inspiration for TV's Fawlty Towers. We are 2km from Torquay Harbour and only 15 mins walk from the South West Coast Path and local beaches, well-known to previous visitors like Agatha Christie, Beatrix Potter, George V, Alfred Wallace and Charles Darwin. Perfect for a rainy or sunny day by the seas, winter or summer.
devon england
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“I love visiting these caves but not so sure about the sound and light bit at the start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have always liked these caves, but thought the addition of the sound and light bit at the beginning was just a bit tacky. Wookey Hole Cave, just make up the stories they tell. Cheddar is all about tacky, but I had always thought Kents Cavern was bit more "upscale". Echoing some of the other reviews, i too felt a bit rushed on the tour, this was a first as normally there is time for many more questions. Cafe good. Tour can be totally ruined if someone has a screaming child with them, so please parents don't take a baby into somewhere were they are obviously going to get frightened. Will definately go back, but will most likely go on the more adult themed things.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    325
    66
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting but not the eighth wonder of the world!!.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, recommend booking in advance online. For two adults and two kids it worked out around £30.00 saving about £6.00, otherwise it does seem a little overpriced.

On arrival you get allocated a tour slot, we only had to wait about 20 minutes. The tour guide Acer, was pleasant and went into his very rehearsed if a little unpolished routine almost immediately.

The actual cave itself is very interesting and it would have been nice to have spent more time actually looking at the rock formations, stalactites and stalagmites rather than being ushered along quicker than we would have liked.

These grumbles aside, the overall attraction is good and well worth a visit. But please ditch cavog the clown in the rented caveman suit, he's just naff and scared the kids!!.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Good, but not practical.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

English Heritage members get 50% off here so we paid £4.50 each. I wish they had advertised their tour times in advance, or even advertised that they are only once an hour, as we were unlucky and waited 50 minutes for ours. I would much rather have guided myself around as there was not much to do during the wait, and the exhibits only took around 10 minutes. The tour itself was OK. I liked seeing where the various objects had been found and I enjoyed being cool!! None of the staff warned us about flashing lights until literally 10 seconds before it was about to happen. Some people had taken babies who screamed whilst the guide was talking and so I didn't really benefit from having a guide, as I never heard a word he said. Prams had also been taken down there, only for their owners to discover they did not fit through the walkways. Some of the children were scared when the guide, as a planned part of his routine, turned off all the lights. So I would say that they need to warn people of what to expect before they get their tickets, or even have a separate baby friendly tour, so that those without children can actually enjoy listening to the guide. Not being able to hear the guide, or see him, because I am not very tall, was the biggest annoyance and because we were in a group there was no escape. I'm not anti-children, but you've got to consider the practicalities of taking them (and their associated paraphernalia) into a cold dark cave.

What is seemingly a strange Devonian feature, is the pay and display car park. In the North of England, only town centre attractions make you pay to park, but that doesn't apply in Devon where they seem intent on squeezing every last bit of cash out of you. So we paid a flat fee for 4 hours car parking when the tour only took an hour! I'm utterly confused by this and would expect the attraction to knock off your parking fee when you subsequently pay your entry fee.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwanenburg, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tour and Ghost tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nina told and showed us so much about the caves. It was very interesting and she was a very good guide!
For the next evening we booked the Ghost tour. That was fun! Good acting and loved the 'dark figures'....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting way to keep cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The trip around the caves lasted about three quarters of an hour. The guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. No good if you dislike enclosed places. The food was OK - pasty, salad and a pint was 5.95. We went on a coastal 2 hour walk before we had lunch - map provided. This was very up and down - you need to be fit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kents Cavern also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Kents Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kents Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.