We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Vienna Restaurant

Old Vienna Restaurant
7 Lisburne Square, Torquay, England
01803 380 180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 264 Restaurants in Torquay
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Penn, Buckinghamshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I had an superb evening here. The food was totally delicious, you would be hard pushed to find better anywhere, we could not fault one single thing, this is equivalent to Michelin starred dining but without the hefty prices. The restaurant is small, intimate and has such a lovely warm atmosphere. The waitresses were very friendly and you could not fault the attentive service. My only complaint is that we did not meet the infamous Werner as he was away! We will definitely be back when we visit Torquay again, thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    34
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went for a family meal. There were five of us and well all had a different starter, main and desert. Everything we were given was delicious. I would recommend it to couples and small family groups.

It was a really good price, I would recommend you book early as we were lucky to get a table two weeks in advance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice meal but the struddle was with a pie pastry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The meal was good and so was the service, when i wanted the duck breast waldorf salad the chef made it specifically without apple as i have an allergy to them. The place was pretty empty though at the start and lacked a little atmosphere but picked up later on.

All of the food was good with our only disappointment being the Apfelstrudel that my wife had. I know this was his mothers own recipe so I can't say it wasn't correct but the pastry was pie pastry not a filo pastry (as we are used to seeing with Apfelstrudel) and was very thick, and not completely cooked through, in the middle. Still an enjoyable evening and worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner R, Owner at Old Vienna Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Well - thats embarassing- strudel not cooked through .Unfortunatly I had to go home to Austria - my 85 year old mother with had a knee operation and I had to go over to see her -which was nice as I was also running short on schapps .My stand in chef has worked with me of and on for over six years and I have full convidence in him. My oven door hinge was broken and the door had to bee supported with an ironing board trying to keep it shut.,.New hinge on its way - should arrive tomorow I am not making excuses- the pastry should have been cooked properly - however if you look at Austrian strudel Recepte you will find it amongs pulled pastry we also use short crust and not a lot of sugar in it as the sweetness should come from the filling as well .It is of course as always a matter of personal taste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very nice but not truely Austrian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Really enjoyed the food in the Old Vienna, staff was nice and helpful too. However, many of the dishes were certainly more for the English market and not true to the Austrian heritage you might expect. And you are reduced to the choice of one dish only if you are vegetarian...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner R, Owner at Old Vienna Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you as always for your comments- on my logo it says Restaurant with the Austrian Touch.Yes my Menu is modified and as i have been living here for quite some time.I have put on Grammel Knodel, Szegediner Gulash and Tiroler Grostle along with quite a few other dishen on the menu which did not sell a lot exept for special Austrian Evenings
On your visit I was actually in Austria to visit my mother- she had an operation . I had a friend standing in for me who has worked with me for a good number of years.
I am back now and with me are a few specials whilst I was away my baking oven hinge broke and as usuall things go slightly wrong as soon as i am away.
As far as vegetarian dishes are concerned there is only the Kohlrabi Schnitzel on the menu as such but I also have wild mushroom risotto and I make Kasespaezle und Kartoffelpuffer, basicalyy I do talk to my guests an produce other meals for vegetarinas from stock Items.Idont just produce a plate of veg in tempura batter .
I am going to visit my daughter in bristol next week for her birthday and I always get some hints from her - she is vegan so we do have some interresting conversations.
Of to a local shoot tomorow to pick up two deer and some pheasants.Venison ragout with Semmelknodel and cranberries in 1/2 a poached pear will be on as special as well as Venison Goulash with Spatzle as well as soon as my oven is fixed Linzertorte and Sachertorte will be some of my Austrian delight .I a sorry I was not here myself as I gather you are Austrian and it would have been nice to have a glass or two of Schnapps together
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went to old Vienna after reading about it on Trip Advisor, we had a beautiful meal the food was lovely,the wine flowed and the host was charming.

We will definately visit again the next time we have a break in Torquay.

It was good to chat to the owner chef and the free schnapps made the night even more special.

Would recommend a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vienna Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Old Vienna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Vienna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.