We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have not visited yet but will at the next opportunity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Vienna Restaurant

Old Vienna Restaurant
7 Lisburne Square, Torquay, England
01803 380 180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 264 Restaurants in Torquay
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“have not visited yet but will at the next opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I apologise profusely. I meant to write much earlier than this. It has taken me so long to write my reviews although I make notes in my notebook as soon as I have visited places.

Last month, we never made it to the Old Vienna. Having done my research and found this restaurant with its raving reviews, I booked dinner weeks in advance. Unfortunately, my husband fell ill on that afternoon. The owner was so understanding when I rang him to explain. The owner of our guesthouse, Kingston House, also kindly called the Old Vienna to confirm that we could not make it. This is one restaurant we will be returning to when we are back this way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    34
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Found This Restaurant On TripAdvisor , What a Hidden Gem , Tucked away from the main stream of restaurants , The food is excellent & you will not be disappointed . Lovely service
excellent hosts Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic little place - great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

As we were staying in Torquay for a couple of days I decided to do my research beforehand and found this lovely little place to be No1 on Tripadvisor. Having never tried Austrian cuisine before I was determined to give this place a try. A very small quaint little place, ideal for a romantic night out - not a cheap option but what is these days. For starter I had quails eggs and asparagus - ok but i wish i had been more adventurous as my husbands starter of pigeon breast with pomegranate seeds and pine nuts was stunning. For main we both had 'finest local deer pan fried, served rare with sauteed new season chanterelles and red wine jus'. We tasted the deer and both looked at each other and said wow! It was so tender - fantastic - unfortunately I then poured most of the jus over the deer - my mistake. I should have tasted the sauce first, it was lovely but very strong and overpowered the delicious deer. So I spoiled the meal but that was my own fault - shouldn't have been such a pleb. Definitely try this place if you are ever in the area. Overall I did not like Torquay, I found it rather tacky and a bit seedy in places however it is home to some great eateries

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate at Old Vienna Restaurant during a busy weekend. The service was attentive and friendly. My entree was good and my girlfriend really enjoyed her. We had a little chat with the owner ,also had complimentary schnapps which was a very nice touch .Overall very good restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited this restaurant after seeing it number 1 on Trip Advisor and you can see why it is. From the moment we arrived everything was brilliant, from the home made bread to the service. The front of house lady (I assume the owners wife) couldn't do enough and was very helpful and friendly. The food is out of this world. I had the pork tenderloin for main which can often be tough but just fell apart. The owner/chef checked on us to see that all was well and to bring us our schnapps at the end. We will go back very soon. The entertainment was great too, watching people fall down the step into the loos!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vienna Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Old Vienna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Vienna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.