We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighful, cosy and very quaint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Vienna Restaurant

Old Vienna Restaurant
7 Lisburne Square, Torquay, England
01803 380 180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 266 Restaurants in Torquay
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
salisbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delighful, cosy and very quaint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My Husband and I ate at this welcoming restaurant for the first time on a short visit to my hometown, Torquay. We found the experience very relaxing with very friendly waiting staff and delicious food. It has a cosy dining room with an informal feel to it.

It was fully booked the evening of our visit and we were lucky to accept the last table. What we found particularly nice was the wide range of ages dining, young, middle aged and more mature folk! A really good mix.

We loved meeting Werner when he came out of the kitchen having finished service and were glad of the opportunity to chat with him in our very limited German! He kindly gave the diners a complimentary glass of Schnapps.

We had a lovely bottle of house Sauvignon and found the bill quite reasonable. The sauce served with my Schnitzel was beautifully executed.

Werner, we shall return when we again stay at the wonderful Somerville hotel but will book our table with more advanced notice to save possible disappointment. Many Congratulations on your well deserved trip advisor rating. Auf.Wiedersehen!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    34
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Happy Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Have tried many restaurants in the Torbay area on our frequent visits to Devon but it must be said The Old Vienna beats everything hands down. The food is fantastic, the atmosphere relaxed and comfortable and the chef/owner Werner a witty and entertaining host as well as an excellent chef. I was also able to inspect my freshly made desert of apfelstrudel before it made it to the oven!! A brilliant evening. The first visit of many.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our first evening out in a "proper restaurant" in 18 years ( 4 children in between) and as expected it was the perfect choice!!! Thank you to everyone for making the evening PERFECT in every way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous will definatlely come back food superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to the old Vienna last evening and had the most delicious meal I had the scallop and peppered fillet and my husband had the pigeon and the lamb both meals were a delight this is defiantly one for the top of our list for dining out on our return visits to our lovely Torquay

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“English Riviera's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Such a pleasant surprise! After eating at many different restaurants in the Riviera, we wanted to try something new, and after seeing the great trip advisor reviews decided to give it ago, and the restaurant really does live up to the reviews. Great in every single way, perfect food, wine, atmosphere - just everything!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vienna Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Old Vienna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Vienna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.