We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Establishment - Dont miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Vienna Restaurant

Old Vienna Restaurant
7 Lisburne Square, Torquay, England
01803 380 180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 266 Restaurants in Torquay
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Establishment - Dont miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I will recommend this beautiful little restaurant to everyone. Loved every minute of our evening and the food is fantastic. Everything we ate was delicious. The restaurant also had a very warm atmosphere and welcoming, helpful staff. It is a perfect venue for special occasions and the price is astonishingly reasonable for such wonderful food.
Everything was cooked to perfection and presented and garnished beautifully. Everything we ate really got the taste buds going. Dont be afraid to try things on the menu you have never eaten. You wont be disappointed.
Verner is an extremely talented chef and an absolute gentleman. We had a great chat with him after our meal shared a schnapps with him to top off the evening.
Thank you Verner and everyone at the Old Vienna for a perfect evening.

Yours
Arthur and Lilyana

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    34
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on a visit here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Could not speak more highly of this restaurant.......found it on TripAdvisor and decided to book, so happy I did. Food was amazing (starters: Scallops, Pigeon, mains: weiner schtnizel, Venison + torte and cheesecake for desert) and the wine recommended by the waitress was really really very good. Was nice, and unusual, to have the chef appear a few times, he is chatty and friendly and really adds to it. I wish I had got the waitress' name, she was halpful, knowledgeable and friendly, giving us ideas about where to go afterwards (not being from the area ourselves). Also, after finding out it was my other half's birthday she got the chef to come and wish him well with a shot of schnapps before we left!
The food was amazing, really agree with other reviewers here that it was fresh and delicious and very reasonably priced. I really dont have enough good things to say!
If you are thinking of booking though, take heed they eat late in Torquay!! 7.30pm was probably slightly too early for a weeknight.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Michelin STAR quality food at reaonable pricing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Well this was a surprise as i found the restaurant through trip advisor after a few dodgy meals in Devon ( there for a week on hols).

The menu was outsranding with plenty of game but a few safe bets, i had monkfish and the better half had beef. For starters i had an unusual but moreish orange, ginger and squash soup, while she had bruschetta. I passed oni dessert (wine too good) but she had a delish orange chocolate offering.

I had a cab/chiraz blend for vino.

The food was simply excellent but it was the atmosphere that made it there is maybe 30 tables in the place and the chef, a mad Austrian and the wonderful french maitre d looking after everything faultlessly. All in less than 80 pounds,i am used to dublin prices and expected far more.

We both left delighted with the place ... A real dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Never tried Austrian food before but so glad we did. Excellent food. Very good Austrian wine and you have to have a Schnapps (or 2) after your meal.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

From start to finish, we had a truly amazing time. Amazing beers, both the scallops and venison sausage with creamy sauerkraut were amazing. My girlfriend loved the rabbit and the pork was very nice. Finished with the chef coming out at the end and sculpting a swan out of fat! Great banter, great service, great food. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vienna Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Old Vienna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Vienna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.