We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Anchorage Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Hotel to your Saves list
Anchorage Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aveland Road, Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Have just come back from a few days away at the Anchorage in Babbacombe. Its only a few hours away for us but we thought we would head back to Babbacombe just to get away for a few days. We found the hotel on the internet and we are extremely pleased we did.
It was before anything else fantastic value for money. We had a room overlooking Babbacombe Bowling green, it was spacious and most importantly spotless. All the staff were friendly and the food was really good. We'll be going again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    24
    20
    18
See reviews for
27
80
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just back from a four day stay at this hotel as its a 2star i guess you cant expect a lot ,good bits bedrooms warm and clean ,towels clean also bed linen very clean, another very good point briliant lift but thats about it ,food below standard , i have never been to any hotel in the world that doesnt have muesli or prunes for breakfast this one doesnt!!! evening entertainment below standards /terrible ,not warm sitting down stairs in the evening ,will not be returning

Room Tip: downstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We, four ladies have just had a great time at the "Turkey and Tinsel" five day holiday. First impressions from the outside was how wonderful the Chrsitmas Trees looked. Congratulations to the hotel for the stylish decorations the Santa's were superb as were the Christmas trees, it was not at all tacky but very stylish. Congratulations.
The hotel was clean and the bedroom was a good size with excellent lighting. The food a good standard with choices to suit all tastes. The staff were friendly, and they seemed a friendly atmosphere in the Hotel.
The entertainment was good and varied, we especially liked the Thursday night ( New Years Eve).
The surronding area was quiet and the shops interesting. Walking on the cliff road we would highly recommend the coffee shop


We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is my third time back to the hotel, we love it. We were welcomed by a lovely young lady on reception, we didnt ask any questions but felt we could have asked for anything, she was smashing. The room was clean and spacious and the food was as of the good standard we are use to. We really can not fault the hotel.
There are just a couple of cons, firstly one of the nights entertainment was pretty poor, a mr Davies I believe, but it didn't ruin any part of our evening. The second being the older reception lady as like our last visit she doesn't have avert pleasant manner, you feel awkward, it might just be us she doesn't click with. Overall fantastic!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My second stay at The Anchorage this time with my daughter and grandson. Ground floor room was so spacious! Food was great and the staff very friendly. Hoping to get back early next year! There as entertainment every night as well as activities on Tuesdays which were for non residents as well.

Room Tip: Room 26 was quiet and not far fm reception etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

really good holiday. nice accomodation and well varied menu. we've stayed here lots of times and find it an ideal holiday venue. relaxed atmosphere with a variety of ages. the totel is well situated for visiting Torquay and the added bonus is a car park, though we've had no problems with parking - very quiet area

Room Tip: choose one of the superior rooms (just a small extra charge) to fully appreciate this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findern, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed in this joke of a hotel last year!

Rood awful and smelly and noisey due to extracto fan being outside my room. Extractor went on at 5.30 every day and went off at midnight. Then to bottle bins would be filled in the early hours, the bins were below my room.

the wardrobe had no doors so my clothes stank of stale food from the kitchen. The filth extractor outlet in the bathroom (looked like it hadn't been cleanded for years) brought in the smells from the kitchen below. When I opened the window the smells got worse, so no escape.

The food was awful and rationed, you couldn't have a second glass of juice with your breakfast.

Mostof the staff ok but the owners son was abbusive, rude and very unhelpful. If he was a manager in my placeof work he would have been fired years ago, as he had no people skills whatsoever.

Stay clear of this awful place! It's a waste of money!

Room Tip: Just don't go there! Try another hotel instead. If I could grade it in minus figures I would
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Aveland Road, Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.