We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faultless for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Anchorage Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Hotel to your Saves list
Anchorage Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aveland Road, Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
liverpool
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“faultless for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

we arri ved at the anchorage with two other couples, the journey down bore no problems and when we arrived we were not overtired. we were met at the coach by the manager who as usual explained all the ins and outs including meal times to us, our cases removed from the coach and put inside our room . the room was spotlessly clean the bedding pristine white as was the bathroom and towels. after a quick was and brushup we went down for dinner were a member of staff greeted us and showed us our table for the duration of our stay, again the dining room was spotless, the choice of meals from starter to dessert were really good. we asked for a jug of water which was delivered prompt and did so for every meal we had afterwards. did we have a complaint ?, the service could have been a bit quicker than it was but it wasnt that bad enough to moan about. the entertainment was pretty good and most of our party were up dancing every evening (i cant dance), there was an elderly guy he was 86 from lincoln who got up every night and "danced" on his own and he was entertaining by himself. i remember the people from stoke on trent being picked up we were on the same coach with "just go" our driver brian took care of us the whole holiday
the review by ritabarter!!! did he go to the same place as us ? some people expect to get five star treatment with three start money
would i go again, too right , we all would we had a great time

Room Tip: we had room 54 the view was of the side of the property rooms at the front have views of the park, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    24
    20
    18
See reviews for
27
80
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just returned from the Anchorage Hotel with Just Go Coach Holidays and what a brill time we had. We were greeted on arrival by the manager who welcomed us to the hotel and our cases taken to our rooms. Our room was spotlessly clean and the carpet and furnishings were all new. The bed and pillows were comfortable too. All the areas in the hotel were spotless. Next, the food - there was a choice on the menu and that included starters and puddings too and all the food that we had was very good, could not fault it. We didnt have to wait long in between courses either. There was entertainment three nights out of the 4 that we were there and that was OK too, we enjoyed the singer best. On the other two nights it was music played by organists which suited the dancers in the hotel. All the staff that we met were really nice and friendly. Couldnt really fault the hotel, would definately go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you find stairs dif
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

on arriving to the hotel the welcome we got was really warming and friendly all staff were lovely to everyone and always cheery, rooms were spotless as was all the hotel if anything was needed as you asked it was done ,there wasnt a fault with any of this or the evening entertainment. now for the bad bit the food was poor choice of menu poor and service was diabolical after sitting for about 20 minutes we got our first course then at every meal after the first course we waited 40 minutes to get our main this wasnt the case for everyone just a few.I would recomend the hotel for bed and breakfast as the breakfast was nice just the service was bad but a defo no for the evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

My recent stay at the Anchorage was, as always, most enjoyable. It's an annual visit for me and I am yet to be disappointed. Warm reception, room comfortable warm and clean. The choice of food and service was excellent. A nice relaxing evening in the lounge with entertainment could not be better. The weekend was certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Up on our arrival we were greeted by a warm friendly receptionist.
We found the staff at all levels to be helpful, we had a two year old and a ten year old with us and nothing was to much trouble regarding any thing we wanted for them.
All in all we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

good time had by all,staff very friendly and helpfull . evening entertainment good.owner and manager both in attendance. will be staying here again. keith bristol

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

stayed for five days with ogdens travel,had a very nice room on the ground floor,beds comfortable though a little creaky.the food was good ,and our waitress was great ,very friendly and efficent.we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go there again

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Aveland Road, Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.