We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“starlight express” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babbacombe Theatre

Babbacombe Theatre
Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LU, England
+44 1803 328385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 70 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Babbacombe Theatre is a professional venue renowned for wowing audiences with their highly acclaimed variety shows,throughout the year and has been a valuable asset to the English Riviera for over seventy years. The all new show for 2015 will assuredly add some sparkle to a production that promises to glisten from start to finish. It saddens us to have to tell you that the nursery rhyme, 'Twinkle Twinkle Little Star', is a myth. Stars only appear to twinkle! But do not despair - this is not the case with 'Starlight' which will assuredly set you all aglow. You can be confident that the cast, a 'constellation of stars', will be doing what they do best, ENTERTAIN you! Starlight, promises a night of hilarious comedy antics, whilst celebrating the very best of the old and the new amongst the realms of music in all its genres. There are musical highlights from the much loved and popular, Starlight Express and Love Never Dies as well as from The Commitments and Memphis, shows currently doing well on London's West End stages. There will be some classic pop with Ollie Murs and Rihanna songs featured and we have gone international with a much loved classic performed in Italian! Whilst the younger cast members, show you 'A Whole New World' which is guaranteed to leave everyone feeling on cloud 9! The theatre has, access for the disabled with a disabled toilet and Wheelchair spaces as well as a Loop System. For details on all the shows programmed at the venue, including Starlight please refer to the website, or contact the box office.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“starlight express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

brilliant show lovely theatre cost us £19 for a fantastic evening out highly recomended

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BababcombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your 5 star review!
We are delighted at the feedback and its only week two!
We especially appreciate you mentioning the evenings entertainment as being good value.We hope we may see you again when you are next in the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    84
    21
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“new show --First class ---”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We visited the show on the 2nd night of opening and it lived up to its name :Stardust} it was bursting out all over,and kept you laughing from start to the end,good old fashioned comedy music hall at its best --great value for money ---look out for some star names of the future --headliner - Danny Posthill brilliant ,non stop laughs all the way through ,a great all round entertainer ,Ben Nickless another comic /impressionist who had you in stiches with his take off of a lot of stars including Victor Meldrew

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BababcombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you so very much for your superb 5 star review. We have been delighted with the feedback we have had so far. It was particularly appreciated you took time to mention our two comedy headliners. Bringing in a new headliner, the young up and coming Danny Posthill has proven to be a positive move on the part of our producer/director, Colin Matthews.
Ben Nickless has been with us before as you are most probably aware, he really has made his mark here at Babbacombe and has received many positive comments regarding his exceptional comedic performance.
Having in the past worked with some of the biggest names in the world of entertainment, Colin now actively seeks out new and versatile performers for his productions which, together with his youth policy, has resulted in the discovery and development of some exceptional young talent. Many have now moved on with huge successes within the entertainment industry, some have securd roles on London’s West End stages, many of them now working internationally and we even have a young man making his name in Hollywood.
Who knows where this cast will end up 10 years down the line? We are just thrilled to have been able to work with them- remember though where you saw them first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

have been a few times and have enjoyed each show they have put on and it is good value a good night out

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BababcombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Its always refreshing to hear from our regular patrons, most especially when they write such nice comments! So THANK YOU for taking the time to post yours.
I hope we may see you again this season. We are up and running weekly now with an all new show, with many new cast members, and the show STARDUST is definitely fresh and will have a wide appeal. We cover the old and the new in Musical Theatre with Phantom of the Opera, West Side Story & Matilda with some REVOLTING children I hasten to add. We have put a whole new twist on Queens Bohemian Rhapsody...in fact its light years away from the original. We celebrate the Olympics and we take on one of Michael Jackson's classics.... I don't want to give to much away, but if you have enjoyed our previous productions this one will definitely please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good afternoon's entertainment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Saw the theatre's Christmas show on New Years Day. Good show with many very capable performers. Sadly, it was rather let down by the comics relying almost exclusively on a string of very old schoolboy nob jokes.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BababcombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our Trip Advisor page. I appreciate your comments with reference to the gags and the comedy element to the show. Whilst it may not be to your taste, the style of jokes you refer to are very popular with the majority of our audience members. You will have noted that there are never any rude words or profanities used during the show and that the jokes always use innuendo, and whilst some of the material is old, we do ensure we get a balance of new comedic material. And as is so often said by entertainers, both old and new...." the old ones are the best!" They all like to make an audience laugh and will sometimes refer to tried and tested material to get them.
I am pleased to note that the majority of the show was enjoyed by yourself and I hope we may see you again this season. We have a new headlining comic, Danny Posthill and Ben Nickless a comedy impressionist returns after his successful run in Heatwave last year. They both certainly know how to generate lots of laughs, in the all new show, Stardust.
Have to say though, there may be a couple of the schoolboy jokes mixed in with lots of very new and original material from both comics and the comedy sketches that feature more of the cast most definitely take inspiration from the Two Ronnies and Les Dawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“xmas show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

lovely little theatre, great show. very entertaining show

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BababcombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review of our venue, and for your lovely comments regarding the show, Step Into Christmas.
Hopefully if you return to the Bay this year, we may see you in the audience of our all new show, Stardust. It will run weekly on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 14 Feb-24 Oct incl. Curtain up at 8.15pm.
I can assure you it will be a fabulous evening of variety entertainment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbacombe Theatre also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babbacombe Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.