We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting with lots of detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
+44 (0)1803 326108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 Attractions in Torquay
Type: Museums
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“interesting with lots of detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

As we were in torquay we wanted to visit bygones. We were glad we did as it had lots of interesting and clever attractions. However this would not be suitable for everyones interests and possibly small children would not enjoy.
Was great to look at the different eras including walking threw a ww1 trench.
Worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    170
    44
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting - good for a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My seven year old found this interesting, my three year old didn't really get it and was a bit scared of the 'dolls'. She did however love the miniature model train sets, fairground etc on the third floor. If you have little ones be aware of the gruesome dentist on the second floor! Good little gift shop too, staff very friendly. Save for a rainy day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great and interesting place girls were realy interestedl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

All of it except the stairs but that is a personel issue good place to see. Our girls were really interested in how things were when we were children. Loved the surprise of the toilet ?? such a surprise for them. The exhibits were very good and authentic brought back so many memories for us and we were able to explain everything to the girls.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Bygones is an amazing place to take a peek at days gone by. The huge array of packages and memoribilia is amazing and I spent absolutely ages looking into 'shop' windows stating 'I remember that' when seeing a familiar package !.As you enter the attraction and turn left, there is a shed which contains an hilarious surprise, so make sure you look for this! Located over 2 floors, it is literally crammed with the sights and sounds of a bygone era. I felt Bygones represented great value for money and recommend this attraction to everyone I know !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A cool step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My 11 year old daughter loved this disproportionately and has argued me up on this review! I felt it was a little expensive for what ended up being only an hour really.
The displays are very well done and incredibly authentic, smells and sounds were great and gave a good feel for Victorian times. If I were suggesting improvements it would be to have the ability to buy old money and use this to pay for sweets in the sweet shop and replica items in the grocers.
The two floors are very interesting but the change of content as you go up to the third is a little random. It becomes old toys, model railway trains and World War One!

The staff were lovely and very authentic in their dress and attitude!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bygones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.