We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
+44 (0)1803 326108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 attractions in Torquay
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

thought this was a good attraction however it was very busy on day we visited and felt as though you had little time to look at the different rooms without people behind you hurrying up

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    143
    29
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Loved it! The cafe was great too! We had a wonderful time with soooo much to see!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brought back memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Take a trip back in time, how the Victorians lived and shopped. Loved the old shop front with all the old packaging, brought back memories. Alot of hard work has gone into this attraction Well Done !!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I actually went in July 2011 but didn't have the option to put the date in.

But anyway. A friend and I visited Bygones and at first I did wonder because the frontage is quite small, but wow, it's huge inside, over several levels, and packed, absolutely packed with thousands of every day items of yesteryear in various settings. We spent a good 3 hours there and if you wanted to you could actually spend longer, I reckon. It's absolutely not one of those stuffy museums of years gone by, but recreations, the only way to go with places of this type. Someone's really put a lot of effort into this place. Given the items and artefacts, none of the museum is 'hands on'. This is no surprise and totally understandable, but there are buttons to press here and there: and yes, there is a small steam locomotive in the middle of it all!

Whilst young children might find it a bore (but only because it's the way that fidgety young children do when they want to be on the beach), if you like nostalgia (and I do) then you will love this place. Especially absolutely recommended for persons over a certain age - ie, 30!

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

we went to bygones and found it very intersting.
it was not very expensive only £8.75 each
we spent about 3 hours inside as there was lots of things to see.
able to reminis on our childhood with things that we had right back to our great grandparents.
we found it very well laid out with lots of displays of shops and items they used to sell an area dedicated to the evacuation of children during the was with a full size engine
a area with lots of models and a layout of the trenches and all memorbila medals ETC
they have a tea shop which is resonable and a shop at the end which prices vary.
dont think it is small by the size of the front as it goes right back and on three floors.
they advised that it used to be a picture house before it became bygones.

overal a good morning was had with lots to see and do very well layed out and not to dear!!!!!!
GOOD for a rainy day

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bygones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bygones to your Saves list