We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cramped” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Theatre

Princess Theatre
Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EZ, England
0844 871 3023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 31 Attractions in Torquay
Attraction details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cramped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were on second to back row and could barely see the stage,Evita, however I saw someone borrow a cushion so at half time paid £5 to borrow a cushion and moved to the back row, we then had a clear view. I would say if you can't afford best seats here don't waste your money. Evita was OK, nothing special even though London production.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    124
    30
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This is such a beautiful and amazing theatre with some AMAzing performances that come here. I think Eapage review below is absoloutley nonsense as it is stunning and you have to experience this beautiful theatre. The only thing I would agree with is that parking is horrible and expensive in the multi-story car park down the road.

The staff are friendly however one of the ushers can be quite distracting talking through a performance on the upper circle!!!! Naughty! And not closing the doors when the second half of Evita started which let lots of light into the theatre from outside. A member of the audience had to go close the door!!!

Amazing none the less. My favourite attraction in DEVON.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“oh what a circus oh what a show!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

we have just been to the princess theatre to see Evita. it was amazing. Marti Pellow sang his heart out and looked like he was really enjoying performing. but the show belong to Madelaine Alberto. What a voice, what a performance. it was truly brilliant. it was the opening night. the theatre felt alive. we sat in the front half of the stalls and could see everything. strongly recommend anyone thinking of seeing this show which is on tour from the west end, to stop thinking about it and DO IT !!!!
We love this theatre. parking is easy although not on site. the bars are well stocked. the staff are very pleasant. the ladies toilets are a rather long way down. not quite underneath the stage but feels almost like it is. but don't want to end this review on a negative note. so will recommend the chocolate ice cream for the interval instead as it was very delicious.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Evita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Theatre right on the sea front. steps to enter not the easy for the older person . The view is good from any part of the theatre . Sound carried well .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sorry, a total dump for us”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Shabby, and in need of a complete refurb. Uncomfortably cramped and hot which spoilt our visit to see Evita. Parking's atrocious too. Never again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princess Theatre also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Princess Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.