We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANKYOU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Bistro

Memories Bistro
68 Fore Street | St. Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4LX, England
01803 322 224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 255 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THANKYOU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had not been to memories before and we are kicking ourselves.
Right on our doorstep is a gem of a place with food that I really did not
want to stop eating so I purposely slowed my eating rate down. There were
6 of us on Saturday evening (sorry for being a little late, from someone who never is!!!)
and the food was nothing short of SUPERB. The service could not be faulted, this is
a fabulous eating experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you NiV0n for your very kind positive review, It is so kind of you to say our food and service are superb it is very much appreciated.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Excellent Homemade Food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My Partner and I celebrated his Birthday on 17th May 2014 at "Memories" Bistro..You would have to go along way to find such a warm welcoming place to eat. The food was amazing, we now understand why it was so hard to book a table We will try very hard to return. Thankypu Hazel and Gordon for a lovely evening from Jenny and Steve.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Many thanks Jennifer G for your kind & positive review, we look forward to your next visit very much.


Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best food in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

on Friday the 25th of April my husband myself and two friends went for a meal at Memories Bistro in St Marychurch Torquay. we have been to quite a few restaurants in our time, but I have to say this is one infact the only one were the food was outstanding the company of Hazel the owner and Gordon owner [chief cook and bottle washer] was an experience in its self. I would recommend any one and everyone to book well in advance for a 6 star rating meal. we can not wait till june when we return to a smiling host and brilliant chief Gordon and Hazel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you Chassey 1999 for your fantastic review it is so nice for us to be so appreciated, we very much look forward to your next visit.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Torquay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

4 of us went there and where blown away by the food and service.Read the other reviews they say it all it is really that good.If you are in Torquay try it you will not be dissapointed .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Many thanks billyaylesbury for your great review, It is so nice of you to recommend us.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is the third time I have dined at this restaurant and as usual the meal, the atmosphere and the service were top-notch!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you JoBond2014, it is so nice of you to take the time to write such a positive review, we look forward to your next visit.


Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories Bistro also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Memories Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.