We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Bistro

Memories Bistro
68 Fore Street | St. Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4LX, England
01803 322 224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 266 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“top quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

yet again we have visited memories cant fault anything hazel is fantastic front of house and gorden is a wonderful chef creating beautiful food from local produce at a very reasonable price once again thanks for a great night

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you Robin M. for a very nice review, it is so nice of you to comment on Hazels work front of house and my cooking in the kitchen, we are very pleased that you enjoyed our restauant and look forward to seeing you again.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I went to this bistro last Friday night with my wife and had the early sitting
We were greeted at the door by Hazel who could not have been more attentive, the wine flowed and the choices were amazing we both chose turbot as our main course which could not have been cooked better. The choice of fish dishes were amazing. Our evening could not have been better.

If you want a top evening with top food and service I would recommend this top little bistro who needs Michelin stars above the door when you can have Memories.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Many thanks for your very nice review, it is so nice of you to take the time to write such complimentary praise about our little bisto, it really makes it all worthwhile, we look forward to your your next visit.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

After living in the bay for most of my life, this was my first visit with friends, 2 of which had been before and had booked the table. All I can say it was one of the best meals I have ever had, starting with Crab Cakes, followed by Venison which was perfectly cooked. The 6 of us had a wonderful time and I can not wait to return to the warm friendly greeting & excellent food. Thank you for a wonderful night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you Emma B for your fantastic review it is great to know that it was one of the best meals that you have ever had, it is most rewarding for us to get such good comments, we look forward to your next visit.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Totally the dogs wotsits....revisited!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not the first time we have visited this GREAT little bistro (as the title of my revue might suggest), but the first time as only a couple, the occasion being my partners birthday. As when we booked i had mentioned that fact, we were greeted by Hazel at the door, who wished Jane, my partner, a very happy birthday, and showed us to our table. After letting us settle, Hazel returned with the menu, and explained the specials of the day, all of which sounded lovely, we ordered our wine, and were left to ponder over the menu, not an easy, but a very enjoyable task. The feast that followed was one of the best meals, we both agreed, that we had had in a long time, i had the venison, Jane having the fillet steak with a creamy sauce. The couple on the next table i noticed both had fish, and on talking to them later, both said what a lovely meal, and what a friendly atmosphere Memories has, it being their first trip as they were on holiday in Torquay. Before we left, and after cooking his last order, Gordon (the chef/owner) came out to wish Jane a happy birthday, and to ask if we enjoyed our meal, to which the answer was a resounding YES, YES, YES!!! Thanks again Gordon and Hazel, for a really great evening, everything was spot on!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, It is nice to know that this was the best meal that you have had In a long time, Hazel said that you were such a nice couple and it was nice to meet you both after service, we very much look forward to your next visit.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Relaxed evening with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great bistro providing a very warm welcome, relaxed atmosphere and good food.

Service was friendly yet efficient and by keeping the number of covers low and timing the bookings at sensible intervals it meant that the food delivery was effortless throughout the evening.

Wine list small but perfectly adequate number of choices for bistro style dining. Good number of choices for all three courses and all the food was well cooked and thoroughly appreciated.

The bill when it arrived was surprisingly modest considering what we had eaten and drunk.

Tip - do not turn up speculatively as it is always fully booked 3 or 4 weeks in advance as they only open on Friday and Saturday evenings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks Barry B. for your very nice review, it is so kind of you to take the time to write such nice comments, we look forward to your next visit.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories Bistro also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Memories Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.