We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Corbyn Head Hotel to your Saves list
Corbyn Head Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We have been visiting Corbyn Head for several years. We discovered it by chance and were very impressed by the welcome,the food and the views. During this last visit my wife let slip that it was a significant birthday for me. The staff 'went the extra mile' to ensure it would be a memorable occasion for us. My sincere thanks to them. OK, the televisions are not the latest generation, but then the star rating reflects this sort of thing. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    88
    31
    25
    24
See reviews for
55
190
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We chose Corbyn Head Hotel to celebrate our Golden Wedding anniversary, and what an inspired choice it turned to be.
We spent four days in this beautiful location in early March, and the memories will certainly stay with us for a long time.
We had a sea-view room with balcony and even in March we were able to sit out on the balcony to enjoy the view across the bay.
The room was large, clean, and very well appointed, although it did take us a couple of days to master the vagaries of flushing the toilet or waiting long enough for the hot water to get to the bath. This did not detract from our feelings however, and we would certainly expect to return at some point in the future, and we would be delighted to occupy the same room.
The Staff throughout the Hotel were of the highest order - all intent on ensuring that our stay was a memorable one, and they did everything possible to make this come true.
Running the Bar area was Voytek (the spelling may be suspect), who did everything he could to make us feel welcome. In the Restaurant was Anthony and Sylvia (among others) who, without exception, were always welcoming and did everything they could to make sure we were well looked after.
The food in the Restaurant was indeed magnificent and presented beautifully - always hot and always delicious. We had Dinner there on four nights, and on each occasion it was a totally different menu and the food was always quite exceptional (the downside is that now we are home we are faced with the problem of ridding ourselves of the lbs we put on - but it is very much worth it!). The Breakfast was also outstanding, with a wide range of choices catering for everyone.
There are adequate parking spaces, although we thought that the provision of only one "blue-badge" space could be improved.
Overall, a wonderful location with a Hotel and Staff which will ensure that it will hopefully not be too long before we can return.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have a sea view, although those with a balcony enable one to enjoy the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have stayed in lots of hotels in Torquay and Paignton but none match the Corbyn Head.
Reception was most welcoming. There were several offers to carry our luggage. Our room was large and spacious with a magnificent view of the bay. Dinner was first rate with well presented food and lovely service. Breakfast was very good.
Staff were all friendly.

Will stay there again soon

Room Tip: Room 55 had a fabulous view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have just completed a short-break at the Corbyn Head Hotel which was first rate. Although we had visited this hotel regularly prior to 2001 due to other factors we had not been able to return. However February 2012 we tried it again - it had improved. The cuisine was first rate - as good, if not better than some Michelin * restaurants we have dined at. Staff are friendly (always a smile greets you), obliging and are a credit to the hotel management. The rooms are clean and comfortable, typical facilities for a 3*+ hotel in the UK. Thank you very much to the management and staff - we will return shortly.

Room Tip: Suggest you select a Seaview room with a Balcony - what a view to wake up to!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have stayed here for five years in a row and have found all the staff and every service just excellent.We have had to take our dog with us sometimes and they have always been very accommodating.There is always a good and varied choice of food,all of which is top quality. .The rooms are very clean,comfortable,and have a wonderful view out to sea.We look foreward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I love staying here, i have been coming to this exact hotel since i was 5 years old and never once have had anything bad to say about it, it is perfectly placed in front of the sea and you can even have a balcony on your room which is excellent. The food is gorgeous every year and i always feel satisfied, the entertainment in the evening can be somewhat 'cheesy' but it is always good to sit down, have a cup of coffee and listen to the nights entertainment. The rooms are of a good quality and in the morning the showers are nice and hot too wake you up, I'd recommend this hotel to all :)

Room Tip: higher floors have balcony and can be quieter, even though the corridors are quiet anyhow and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

23rd February invited to eat with friend from the Midlands (where we come from ) they were guest of the hotel. On arrival we experienced a puncture in our car. The manager got all this sorted and had the wheel changed. Meantime we went in and had a great meal, perfect food and very very good staff. we could not have had better attention for non guest. So come on folks have a holiday at the Corbyn Hotel in Torbay. Cheers .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corbyn Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.