We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like being in 1970 but with 2010 prices !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torbay Road, Seafront, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #59 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Felt like being in 1970 but with 2010 prices !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Travelled with fairly large family party , Majority of staff friendly but did have some surly eastern european staff not so friendly.
Decor and surroundings dated and tired well overdue a refit by about 20 years !
Room was average , poor furniture and again tired and needs investment
We stayed 3 nights and every night there was a private function using the hotel
Bar prices we considered high at £ 5.70 per glass of wine but not on its own there I guess
Very much a coach party hotel and this is reflected in the average age of client 65 +
Biggest problem for myself was the food everything pre prepared and old fashioned uninspired dishes , whilst not offensive , why do a 4 course meal badly should concentrate on 3 courses and improve the quality , we were booked for evening meal and to order a steak was a £14.95 supplement !! How do these hotels keep getting away with it , then claim tourists aren`t holidaying in England.
Bar food was better than standard evening meal choices
MUST TRY HARDER Livermead you are way behind others are doing it better
My final gripe is that the Livermead is part of a small group of hotels and the facilities they list on the website are actually at other hotels , sorry but you dont put your trunks on to catch the bus and jump in the jacuzzi down the road anymore ! Check what this actual hotel does have prior to booking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    125
    70
    42
    29
See reviews for
61
194
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Have just returned from 3 nights at the Livermead Cliff. I was slightly concerned after reading some of the reviews on here, but needn't have worried.
The hotel is in a great position right by the sea and it's well worth paying the supplement to get a view out to sea and over the bay to Torquay. Our first floor room also had access to a terrace shared with with 4 other rooms and which was great for sitting out reading the newspapers of having a cup of tea.
The staff are all very attentive and on Saturday morning many of them gathered at the front doors to wave off a coach party that had been stayng there. The people on the coach were all waving back and it was clear to see that they had all had a good time and I think that this sums up the hotel.
It is a bit dated and does have a largely older clientele, but is very welcoming and comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again when in Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

had a fantastic birthday with family and friends,staff couldnt have done anymore for us ,we have been staying at the livermead cliff hotel for the past 6 years ,it is such a friendly,comfortable,clean hotel,we never stay anywhere else when going to torquay.thankyou again for making my birthday so special. Look forward to staying with you again soon
.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Great location, great hotel! It should be noted that it is a wedding party hotel and the other guests get overlooked.
I was travelling with my sister and a friend so we had 3 rooms and 1 car.
On returning from a day out we find the car park overflowing so ask at front desk where are customers suppose to park and are bluntly told, " Down the road" we double parked outside and where approched by a very arrogant manager and told to move.
Tell me, why cant they pay a young inexpensive employee to sit outside ( when wedding partys are scheduled) with a list of PAYING CUSTOMERS ans reserve that amount of parking spaces and tell everyone else to park " DOWN THE ROAD"
Same old story of lets spend as little on overhead and make as much profit as we can.
That only works until the word gets out that you dont look after your PAYING CUSTOMERS.
So on that note, I suggest "Mark" the so called manager should go back to management school and learn the first and most important thing ??? Yes you guesses it
THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT AND COMES FIRST !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Excellent Staff very helpful couldnt wish for better. Room ok quiet a bit dated but comfortable bed Surrondings really good sito relax or do some workoutside with a great view of the bay and away from all the noise of the town
Great value and would recommend a stay well done again to the staff!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Loved this hotel!! . My welcome on the saturday morning was so warm and friendly 10 out of 10 for the receptionist and the other staff memebers i came across. Great Location for relaxing and amazing views!
Just want to say congratulations to mark the manager keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Too hot with bedroom window closed and too noisy (traffic) with it open.
A false fire alarm at 2:00am demonstrated some very concerning issues eg locked escape routes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Seafront, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.