We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay

Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay to your Saves list
Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went as a family 3 adults, 2 children and a 6month old baby.we had a large family room and a single. The family room was very light and airy with plenty of space.Pauline provided a lovely travel cot plus bedding.the bathroom was a fab size, lots of room to shower and dry the children and ourselves easily.
The breakfast menu was super and freshly cooked. Pauline was so helpful with anything we needed.
We highly recommend a stay here, we would return eagerly!!!!
The single room was comfortable too
A 3star bed and breakfast with a 5* service :-) xx

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review, we really appreciate any feedback. Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
30
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I found Acorn Lodge on the internet and used the reviews on Trip advisor to find a good standard hotel and a good price.
Acorn Lodge were great as we truggled to find somewhere for 2 adults and 2 teenaged children. They juggled things to make space. Best breakfast I have ever had at a B&B. Very clean and friendly. Will go back again.

Room Tip: the room had a separate area so the kids were private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to post this lovely review. Hope business is going well and look forward to seeing you again if you're down this way. Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just back from another visit to Acorn Lodge with my husband and 3 grandchildren.We had another wonderful holiday,the hotel is lovely,very clean, the breakfasts are freshly cooked and plenty of it, Pauline's strawberry jam and marmalade are the best. On arrival you're offered tea-coffee with fruit juice for the children with home made cakes,which is a lovely touch.The hotel is in good repair and Pat and Pauline take pride in their hotel which show's,
the decking was covered with pots of lovely colourful flowers,Thank you for a great stay and for the fan,the children enjoyed their chewy bar and also say thanks for putting up with them we hope to see you again.

Room Tip: I've seen most of the rooms and everyone is clean, well furnished with everything you'll nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thankyou, it's always nice to see you and the grandkids. Hope all goes well for your new arrival in November. Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here back in May. Was a bit late after a long trek from Scotland by car but was held up on the M5 by traffic.
Have to say the owners left were excellent in my stay,and asked me if I needed anything and left me when I needed space. I wanted a quiet getaway fromt he city and this was an excellent location. Close enough to the town centre and quiet enough to get peace to relax.
Rooms were adequate and everything I needed and nice clean, soft towels. Bonus was lots of places to park the car.
Would come again if I m ever down this way. Was a pleasure to stay and couple who run the place and big shout for a lovely weekedn stay.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

spent a long weekend here, i have absolutely no complaints, our room was warm and clean & tidy, with everything you need. Breakfast was great. Not too far from the main town. This place is very good value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review, glad you enjoyed your stay. Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a great B&B in a great location just far enough away from the noise of the town but not too far that you can't walk.
Pauline greeted us with coffee and homemade cake which was a lovely touch.
Room was great lovely and airy were given a larger room as we were staying an extended day, bed was gorgeous great night sleep is guaranteed.
Pat makes a great breakfast nothing is to much trouble.
Def recommend this little gem, will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks. Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Myself and my partner spent a weekend here recently for my birthday. At only £50 per night including breakfast, I felt that this represented excellent value.
The first thing that helped our trip run smoothly was being able to park on the street directly outside. The guest house is located in a quiet and picturesque neighbourhood and we never doubted our safety or that of the car. It was also conveniently positioned a 10 minute stroll from the seafront.
On arrival we were greeted by our host, Pauline, who seems friendly in a genuine and relaxed way which is what we like. The building smelt fresh and clean and so did our room when we walked in. The room itself (number 2) is smallish, but this is to be expected and not a problem. It was clean, light and basically furnished with a moveable wallmounted flat screen tv. The ensuite bathroom was lovely and clean, with complimentary handwash and shower gel. Only slight issue I can raise is that if you stay on the ground floor like we did, you may hear footsteps above; especially if young children are staying (or heavy footed adults! ) It didn't bother us a great deal though and is not something that can be controlled.
Complimentary tea and coffee facilities were available with some delicious biscuits as a nice touch.
Breakfast was good also. Nothing was too much trouble!
Overall, a fantastic stay with unobtrusive service. We will definirely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we will look forward to seeing you next time you're in our area. Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay

Address: 28 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Lodge is ideally located 5 minutes from Beach, Restaurants Bars and shopping centre and a 10 minute walk from the train station. All rooms are ensuite with tea & coffee facilities, color TV, Radio Alarm Clock Towels & Toiletries. The hotel has internet access and all residents have complimentary use of a private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.