We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night break which was excellent value for money. Paid more for an upgrade to a garden view room which was clean and good facilities. The hotel has lots of facilities which we didn't use but any-one with a family would find really useful. Breakfast and dinner were very good with a varied selection. Service was friendly, helpful and of a high standard.
Some of the rooms are alittle dated but there is work being carried out and it is such a big hotel that it takes time. The rooms are still comfortable, with full bathroom facilities, tea and coffee making. Plus we liked the biscuits at bedtime!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    150
    75
    50
    37
See reviews for
85
187
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bath
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Wanted a romantic break with my partner, this certainly fitted the bill! Arrived on friday night went to eat in the hotel restaurant and what great food and service foie gras starter (excellent) and Lamb sublime. The room was very clean with stunning period features. Raining on the Saturday so went for a swim in the clean pool, then the sauna, coffee in the lounge. Then spent a nice evening in the art deco bar doing some serious people watching, if only the weather was better for a bit of golf!
Great my partner was very happy and so was I.
definate recommendation for a romantic getaway

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I have just returned from a weekend at the Palace Hotel with my boyfriend and we had a wonderful weekend. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived and the staff could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. They were polite, accommodating and very friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable in the restaurant and I would definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely break away. We will definitely be visiting again!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bredbury, cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

having read some of the negative comments about this hotel, i really do wonder if these people have stayed at the same place. we returned for about the 20th time just before xmas to find the hotel pleasantly well filled, no doubt mainly due to the fantastic special offer. the hotel`s excellent standards were not compromised however and we found our 2nd floor garden view room to be very clean, spacious, and recently decorated. the food was (as usual) of a very high standard especially the superb 4 course dinner which would not be out of place in a michelin star restaurant. my only (very minor) complaint was our table which was near to the kitchen door, (a bit of a draught) but this was remedied the following evening when the excellent maitre die moved us to another table without batting an eyelid.
The evergreen wine and coffee waiter "Andy" is still here, a bit like the Ravens at the Tower !!, he immediately recognised my wife and i from our previous stays and we were met with a wonderful warm welcome and handshake, a thorough professional.
okay, this hotel is a blast from the past and there`s no flat screen tv`s but it really is a bit of old England. give it a try, you will not be disappointed !!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

It was with a certain degree of nervousness that we arrived at the Palace after having read some of the negative reviews. However, I booked a garden room,for 5 nights, as I was told that these rooms had been recently refurbished The rooms were spacious and clean, the small balcony looked out onto the golf course. We had booked because the sports facilities were quite impressive and we made good use of them. The indoor pool was fine, tennis and squash courts were good. The only criticism I have is the price of using the golf course, around £24 for my husband and 2 boys. The course is well cared for as are the other parts of the garden but due to the price we only played once. If you have your own clubs etc take them as most of the cost is hiring the equipment. Restaurant was good, not outstanding but above average. I am quite a "foodie" and have high expectations, but generally the food was alright. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel had a well cared for look. There were always cleaners around dusting etc!!
I would return again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We Stayed at the Palace Hotel On 6th November. On arrival and at breakfast the following day we found the staff to be very polite and helpfull. The room though was very dated. One of the windows would not close properly and had obviously been like this for some time. The tea and coffee making facilities were on a narrow shelf above the television! surely a health and safety issue? The generator on the flat roof outside the window cut in and out constantly all night..
The bathroom was so small you had to get in first, manoeuver around before you could close the door. The sealant around the bath was black and the plughole full of BLACK HAIR!! Some areas of the hotel have been re-decorated but the majority desperately needs to be brought up to date. As grand as it looks from the outside the hotel needs a complete overhaul and does not justify 4* and at £120pn is over priced..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Young children are simply not welcome at this hotel. For example, our fault, but we did not notice in the adverts that children, 6 and under, are not allowed in the dining room. We showed up with a baby and 4 year old (and 7 year old), and had to persuade the hotel staff that they needed to eat with us (otherwise, the price of our room included a dinner we were not allowed to eat). Our children, by all accounts, were very well behaved and were permitted to eat dinner, but the atmosphere was oppressive. The pool is lovely, but here, too, given the depth, not meant for children under 6. When we went, the other guests were mostly over 65 and the hotel, in fact, has the feeling of nostalgia for a long gone era.
The rooms were very run down -- carpet in the bathroom is a recipe for mold. The cleaner did not empty trash.
This all being said, the food was very good and high quality, and if one has older children, the grounds offer a lot to do. And if one is over 65, there seems to be good company and the staff are happy to see you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.