We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel is very quaint with an old fashion style.
The staff are friendly and polite. The hotel can not be beaten on price.
Considering the size of the hotel and the fact it is not a chain hotel, the décor if very well maintained.
I recommend dinner but don't eat lunch there is a lot of food, 4 course meal and super waiter service, id say the service in the restaurant is as good or even slightly better then the Ivey, London.
1 down side is the lack of phone reception and there is only 1 plug socket, we had other means to charge or technical devices other wise it would have been and issue.
Overall Great hotel would recommend staying or even if you pop in for dinner

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    164
    86
    53
    41
See reviews for
92
210
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Palace Hotel on an overnight business trip. We had a double room with garden view, bed and breakfast for £65 via bookings.com. (this was for the 2 of us). Good 4 star hotel, clean,neat and tidy. Excellent polite service. We were very impressed. Great facilities, easy parking. Breakfast was simply the best, the best I have ever had and that covers some 5 star international hotels I have stayed in. A wonderful hotel. Will go back. As soon as we can this time just to relax. Brilliant unbelievable value for money.

Room Tip: Wait for the last minute deals to appear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked a weeks stay at the palace in Torquay in March this year for the first week in September. We had a garden view room which was spacious with lovely views of the garden.

The food was uniformly excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were comprehensive - indoor and outdoor pools, tennis, golf, gym, saunas, etc etc.

Highly recommneded

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed with friends for two nights. The Hotel is set in beautiful grounds and looks very grand inside. The bedrooms are very dated and disappointing. Our friends were also disappointed at the rooms especially the mildew tiles around the bath. The beds very small and uncomfortable the pillows very hard.
The bathroom light above the mirror was not working and was subdued lighting for applying makeup etc. They rectified the light by the time we got back into the room which was great.
We asked to be moved but unfortunately the hotel was busy. The staff are lovely and understanding, they had our bathrooms cleaned and bleached. Although at first a terrible smell of bleach we was happier that the grouting had turned white giving a nicer appearance.
The setting of the hotel is great, our room was very quiet and peaceful.
We really enjoyed the Breakfast and the staff are so lovely and helpful. The swimming pool is lovely and clean.
Overall, it is an amazing place to stay but we all agreed we would not go back unless the bedrooms had been refurbished and the beds larger and comfortable, such a shame.
The hotel did reduce our rates obviously knowing that our rooms were inadequate and certainly not 4 star.
Back in the day this hotel would have been the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room with a nice clean looking bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs. UK.
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a real old fashioned seaside hotel - with lots of history and old world charm. Yes the rooms are a bit dated, but it really is a nice place to stay. Plenty of staff and service was polite and efficient. Great value for money and I really enjoyed my stay. My only minor gripe was that both mornings items on the hot breakfast buffet were cold ( as were the plates).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paignton devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

first impressions of this hotel are lovely,but when you look closer they are not what they seem, having just been to a function at the hotel, my first impressions was what a lovely hotel in a lovely setting,which you cant argue with, but the cob webs on the drapes make you think what is the rest of the hotel like.plus the meal we had was quite basic and the food was luke warm to cold, when it was suppose to be hot and the service wasnt very good either, having been in hospitality myself you tend to notice things a little more, to the normal outsider they would pick up on these things

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice enough hotel. It has nice decor downstairs but upstairs hotel bedrooms are tired and dated.
I thimk slightly overpriced for what u get, but it is clean and tidy and the breakfasts I must admit are phenominal.
The niggles I had was the window would not latch and by six am the hotel fans outside came on which woke me I think that was due to where the room was situated.

Overall clean and tidy but tired and dated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.