We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotelkeeping with the best of traditional standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Tewkesbury
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Hotelkeeping with the best of traditional standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just back from enjoying a lovely 3 night break at the Palace Hotel. This hotel is really a step back in time where standards of service are paramount.

This is a big hotel, and whilst the rooms have every comfort needed they are somewhat dated, albiet spotlessly clean. and in good order. Where the hotel really shines is in its food and beverage operations. Excellent food was enjoyed on each day of my stay, A buffet breakfast was spot on with food staying hot and nicely served by the restaurant staff. Sandwiches and snacks served on the terrace or in one of the many lounge/public areas are excellent and offer exceptional value for money. Evening dinner - chosen from a table d' hote menu was first class. a lovely starter of smoked haddock mousse lined with ham was delightful and a rib eye steak (£6.00 supp) was tender well cooked and served with a plentiful chocie of vegetables and potatoes. Gone is the old sweet trolley and instead are nicely presented homemade puddings from the kitchen. This is an improvement as puddings on trolley on previous visits tended to get messy towards the end of service. The bar area is a blast from the past - with seating placed all around the walls but the staff are extremely pleasant and proffesional. Which seems to be the same with all of the staff. They seem genuinely concerned that your every need is catered for

The hotel is situated a short walk out of town and does not offer sea view rooms this is compensated by its well tended garden setting and free parking for guests. I know some hotels of a similar standard in Torquay charge up to £7.00 a day for the use of car parks.

As a regular visitor to the town and having stayed in all of the four star establishments
this hotel in my opinion wins the crown especialy if you are on a DBB rate. It also boast a huge array of sports facilities from golf to tennis

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and dinner bed and breakfast deals are usually available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    150
    76
    50
    37
See reviews for
85
187
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Hotel a bit dated but I love that old hotel feel. Food was very good and plenty of it. Service was the best I've known everyone so helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. It was my birthday and I was treated to my fellow diners and staff singing 'happy birthday' and a cake compliments of the hotel. We will be back without doubt.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have just spent 5 days in The Palace hotel with our 9yr old son and parents. We normally holiday abroad but wanted to spend some time with our parents. As many people say, it is an older style hotel, and not close to town (which is good). We had a wonderful stay. We upgraded to a suite as we normally have an extra room because our son won't sleep if we have the lights on. (We had to speak to the manager about this as kids aren't allowed in suites) We had a lovely room with adjoining lounge overlooking the pool & gardens. As we had our parents with us, we opted for dinner (which we never do) and were pleasantly surprised by the service and great selection of food on offer. Every night we had an elegant meal, surrounded by cheerful, helpful staff. The food standard was excellent. Some of the rooms are getting slightly tired, but they are clean and perhaps a more neutral colour scheme in some of the rooms might help (my mum loved the pink in hers, but its not our choice!). The hotel has very good facilities, unfortunately the weather wasn't that great, so we didn't use the outside pool, but our son swam in the indoors pool, we played table tennis, snooker and my husband had quite a few rounds on the 9 hole golf. There is also a large play area & tennis courts available. Maybe the only thing the hotel could improve on, if they want to encourage more families is evening entertainment for families (there were a number of families staying at the same time). The hotel is a good base for exploring Brixham & Dartmouth which are beautiful. We would stay again.

Room Tip: If you have children and they are well behaved, then a suite was definately worth the small amount e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have been going to the Palace for 24 consecutive years and have just booked for next year. We have met other couples and meet with them every year, watching our kids grow up and seeing them with babies. It is certainly in a time-warp, which is the whole charm of the place. We do treat ourselves to one of the balcony suites, which, though expensive, we feel is very good value. The amenities are second to none-indoor and outdoor tennis, 9 hole pitch and putt, snooker, table tennis, indoor and outdoor pools etc etc. The food is great-there is not often silver service these days. There are many long stay staff, and all of the staff is always helpful and smiling. The hotel is privately owned which may explain the helpfulness.
There is some entertainment most evenings, usually musical, and low-key.
This is a great hotel.
This review is completely unsolicited. You will not be disappointed.
Ivor and Gweni Sorokin, Brighton.

Room Tip: A garden room is worth a bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel earlier in the year with my family. We had been advised that it was one of the best hotels in Torquay and from the outside it seemed very luxurious. The inside of this hotel is a complete disgrace, the bedrooms are so outdated and need some serious work to be comfortable. There was a distinct strong chemical smell all around the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel unless you enjoy the sensation of being in a time warp. Definitely not for anyone under 70.

The nice part was the gardens which were lovely and a nice escape from the room!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We keep going back to this fabulous hotel - Why? - Beacause it is not one of the thousands of faceless "cardboard" establishments that exist out there. It has hardly changed in decades and that is it's charm. It is spacious, clean and luxuriously retro and the staff have a sense of attentive service that is second to none. Great facilities, magnificent food, beautiful grounds (and 9-hole golf course!) and, thankfully, independently run. Terrific value and amazing quality. Go there - You WILL love it. Ian & Heidi.

Room Tip: Go for the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Palace is up the hill away from Torquay which is not a beautiful town, and the hillside properties get more and more refined as you go along. I went to the hotel as a child with my family and had lots of happy memories which were all confirmed. You can spend all the time in the hotel as a family and never get bored. It is also lovely inside the hotel and out - the gardens are superb, the pools as lovely as they ever were, you can play golf, croquet, squash, gym, tennis. I went alone, and the staff were wonderful, could not do enough for me. I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for garden views - there is no view of the sea as the enormous gardens full of trees block that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.