We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Below Decks

Below Decks
Beacon Quay, Torquay TQ1 2BG, England
01803 411106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 266 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you like Mussels go to this restaurant, they have about 4 different flavors a night to choice from, I enjoyed them some much went back two nights later to have more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Moules and frittes by the sea - heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As our tradition dictates, our lunchtime arrival in Torquay should be quickly followed by lunch at Below Decks and last Saturday was no exception. Moules and frittes with crusty French bread to soak up the white wine in a cream sauces was divine and reasonably priced. With a bottle of white wine, it was a lovely way to wind down after our journey. What better welcome to Torquay could one ask for? They now do a Paella night some Fridays, so might have to travel down a day early next time to give that a try!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Non chilled drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have visited Below Decks as a couple and with groups of friends most weekends in the summer months since last year for the obvious reason's of its superb location, tasteful decor and lay out and great menu and food.
We also visit Pier point which is a 5 minute walk over the harbour on most of these occasions, for exactly the same reasons.
We have noticed, this year, Below Decks lager & Cider are not chilled only slightly cold, which this Saturday 6th July was a real problem, especially when Pier Point is the opposite with very cold chilled drinks. We were with 4 friends yesterday, 3 couples, and had a drink at Pier Point before moving onto Below Decks with the intention of having a few drinks before returning to Pier Point to finish the evening as it is closer to all our homes. All 3 guys insisted on returning to Pier Point after the first drink as it was very hot weather and drinks were not chilled, we changed their minds and had a second round of drinks which were still not chilled much so did return to Pier Point.
This disappointment prompted a discussion which highlighted a few problems with Below Decks offering, just small matters like the menus are always greasy and never get wiped over, some of the staff are very scruffy, even seeming dirty and the service isn't what it used to be. Finally, the terrible system of queueing and length of wait to get served if more than a couple of people order at the same time, which could easily be changed to a better system / layout. What a shame as it could be one of Torquay's shining lights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Paella”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having seen a sign advertising "Paella Fridays on the First Friday of each month" (summer) whilst on a visit to Torquay Harbour side a week or so ago, I then looked up the web site for Below Decks to book a table for my family on Friday 7th June 2013. At this point I did wonder why no prices were shown for the Paella on either the sign at this restaurant nor on their web site either? Firstly, we were told the Paella would only be server between 7.30 & 8.00, so having all rushed to make this time (7.25) I was not impressed when we waited until 8.30 to receive our Paella (+ other food). I was further not impressed when a plain white breakfast bowl only half full of colourless Paella turned up. Having eaten this small portion of peppery but otherwise pretty tasteless Paella I went to enquire how much I was being charged for it. I was then informed it was £12.95 per bowl, with no garnish, taste & poor presentation (not even some French bread on the side) I think this a very expensive poor Paella. I should point out here that I / we travel to Plymouth (fairly regularly) and actually pay more than this for a really nice Paella, but this Paella was poor on taste, looks, & size, I therefore think it expensive at £12.95.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a lovely afternoon in the sun on Friday 31st May! The staff are so friendly; the location idilic, food and drinks great. We would recommend this to anyone looking for beautiful scenery, very relaxed service and a friendly place to chill out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Below Decks also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Below Decks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Below Decks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.