We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dance Break at The Toorak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added TLH Toorak Hotel to your Saves list
TLH Toorak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dance Break at The Toorak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent just 2 nights at the Toorak on a mini Dance Break with Gary and Tricia Fleetwood. The hotel is very nice but a bit dated, our room was really nice and the cleanliness is very good. The food is good but not exceptional and the service could be better, they seemed to be a bit short-staffed. The dance element of the break was excellent and Gary and Tricia are a lovely couple and I would highly recommend their breaks to any level of dancer. The leisure facilities are a bit lacking and could be improved, there were a lot of children at the centre although there didn't seem to be many children in the Toorak, perhaps they were staying in one of the other hotels as this hotel is part of a complex. I would definitely visit again for the dancing but probably would not otherwise.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor facing the sea was very nice but we had an exceptionally windy/stormy nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your post and we have noted the points that you raised, glad you enjoyed the dance break, Gary and Tricia will be with us next Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    178
    57
    20
    9
See reviews for
136
128
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

4 day stay room 111 from Friday 29th December - 01st January 2013
The trip was to celebrate new year with family & friends & I must say that this is the first time that we have stayed at the Toorak but we have stayed in the other three hotels that make up the THL complex, which I will say is by far the best of the four that we have stayed in.
The food was exceptional throughout the four days especially New Years Eve where the celebrations that were put on were first class with the food also being in the same category. We were also very lucky that the Toorak had Kevin from KB Sound, who normally would be in the Derwent Hotel. I was informed by a number of guests that our room had the best atmosphere by far out of any of the others in the THL. This is all down to Kevin's choice of music & the way he is able to get people onto the dance floor. Also the staff from restaurant to bars were all very pleasant & nothing was too much trouble which added to the enjoyment of the week end.
The only little moan I would have is that the heating, for such a big room, from a small radiator, in the bedroom, was not sufficient enough to make it cosy & warm in the evenings. It really does need a temporary heater of some sort in the room when required but this does not take away the great time & the full marks that the team deserve for the whole week end.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello, glad to see you had such a good time at new year and Kevin will be back with us next year too! Thanks for your kind comments, see you soon

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

All staff without exception were friendly efficient, they went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay, The food was excellent.
The heating in the room was inadequate, central heating in that part of the complex needs to be updated, we found a mobile heater in the hall, moved it in to the bedroom, no further problem. We didn't use the Leisure facilities so unable to comment, will say the Aztec swimming pool looked inviting,

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked the Riviera centre, most comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your post, we have noted your points regarding heating but I am glad you had an enjoyable Christmas with us hope to see you again

Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A pleasant stay at the Toorak during twixmas but a few grumbles: The good first; quality of the food cannot be faulted first class, staff are polite and friendly but the service in the restaurant could be quicker. The rooms are spacious, fresh and very clean with a riviera view. The not so good: leisure facilities, steam room was not working at all during our 4 day stay there was a glass framed notice up in reception informing us which looked permanent. The changing rooms had a disgusting smell of urine and were filthy dirty they looked like they had not been cleaned properly for years. The sauna and swimming pools were ok but the whole experience would have been better with the steam room. Overal our stay could have been better had we been able to enjoy all the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, we did have an issue with our steam room that broke down over the Christmas period and so there were a couple of days before an engineer could attend, i have passed you comments on to our Aztec manager
I was pleased that you had a good twixmas break at the Toorak and thank you for your kind comments
Best wishes for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-Super-Mare
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for our Chistmas party.
Our room was on the second floor. The room itself was quite large, but seemed cold when we arrived in the afternoon. We just thought somebody had had a window open. The bathroom had seen better days (pink 1980s, with a white toilet seat), but overall the room was quite good.
We did notice that the radiator wasn't on, but presumed it was on the timer. (We had checked all the controls)
We went for a walk, came back to find that there was still no heating. On our way down to the meal we called at reception to let them know, and all innocently they said that maintenance would come and look at it. (The mere fact that three or four other people in our party also didn't have heat wasn't mentioned).
The meal was superb. Well presented, and very well organised. During a break I happened to go back to the room to see if there was any heat. In the room was a electric radiator that was so small it could almost fit into my wife's dolls house! It also wasn't switched on!
The hotel itself is part of a complex. The Aztec spa was excellent, and we spent a couple of hours in there.
All in all, a good hotel, let down by the heating system, and dodgy 80s decor in our bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry your room was cool we had a problem with a circulation pump that ws not immediately apparent, I am sorry you were effected
I was very pleased to see you enjoyed your meal and Christmas party, hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

fabulous couple of day in the Toorak on one of their Dance holidays.
hosted by Gary and Trish Fleetwood.
everything you could want in an English classic hotel. just like the old days. so much to do such good food and such friendly staff. we have stayed in some of the other hotels in the complex, but this is the best on. We have already booked again.

Room Tip: we have seen several of the rooms that our dance friends stayed in and they are all very nice. the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you, I am glad to see you enjoyed your dance break with us. Thanks for your kind comments. Great to see you have rebooked for the next one!
Look forward to seeing you soon

Best wishes for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

THe hotel is looking tired and in need of some festive spirt there was nothing to do in the daytime and the evening entertainment was rubbish. The food was Ok but nothing special we had the same options for dinner 4 nights running if you did not like the. Menu these where the options as I am not a great lettuce person I struggled and ended up having the same items each as did my husband and this is extra cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not like our food, most of the reviewers do seem to think our food offering is good. We do have 4 hotels on the complex that all offer different styles of food so you may find one of them more to your taste
Regarding entertainment, we did have at least 4 venues offering different nightly entertainment and a full daytime programme of activities

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TLH Toorak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.