We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very pleasent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights Friday to Monday and were very happy in all respects.Staff are very good,all the function rooms are attractive especially the bar area.We stayed in Room 400 high up over looking the Bay, beautifully large room , I guess recently decorated with all mthe facilities you would expect.Food was excellant , Breakfast and Dinner, difficult to find any problems would certainly reccomend

Room Tip: Go for Room 400
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    364
    227
    111
    64
See reviews for
232
492
40
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Came here for a midweek break enjoyed the Hotel very much, lovely old hotel staff where exceptional could not do enough to help you with your stay.
Leisure facilities are very good and inclusive in the stay here, parking available outside ok
the only downside was a broken bedroom window made the room cold at times apart from that the room was good for the money i paid.
The breakfast is very good the food tastes fantasitc and the staff are very attentive to your needs.
Generally a very good stay on March 27th 2013 at the Grand

Room Tip: go midweek for best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Two of the coldest days of the year, there was no heating in the bathroom and wind whistling through the bad fitting windows (Room 309) I got out of the shower the first morning opened the bath towel only to find a blood stain. I reported this to reception and asked for someone to look at the radiator in the bathroom. When I got back in the evening still no heat, next morning after my shower I opened the towel again and yes it was the same bath towel it had just been refolded and put back on he COLD towel rail. The only good thing about the hotel was breakfast a good choice and hot.

Room Tip: If its windy font have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Disappointing…
Despite being in a fantastic location, ideal for travel by train or car and suitable for walking, the hotel is in need of urgent and overdue decoration and modernisation.
Furnishing older than me, no adequate ventilation to the room / bathroom, dirty and broken fixtures, creaky old floors leave a lot to be desired. This could quite easily be turned round into the best and prime location in Torquay, but needs some TLC.
Not recommended, unless you can put up with the smell, the above issues and also being woken around 8am by a cleaner sweeping bird poo off the stairs outside.
Great shame.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went for Mothering Sunday, 6 of us and the food and service was excellent and very good value.
My expectations were not high assuming it would be a mass produced roast...how wrong was I..... a very good choice for each course and when it came it really was top quality, all of us had different things and they were all good.

we will return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend for conference. Food was good and service too. Used swimming pool, and sauna and jacuzzi. Was very disappointed that once you were by the pool there were NO hooks or place you could place your towel. Either chuck on floor , which is used as a walkway to hanging room or throw on to wicker furniture! Please address this.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at short notice as we were eating at a restaurant in Torquay. Very pleasantly surprised - interior in good condition and every member of staff we enountered were pleasant and efficient. Our room was an inland facing one but had decent views across to town and park. Looked like room had been recently refurbished (room 327). Breakfast was excellent and bar area had a nice ambience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star, AA Rosette Grand Hotel occupies pride of place on the Torquay seafront, commanding majestic views over the bay and out to sea. It has undergone restoration; the result is a perfect blend of modernity mixed with the opulence and grandeur of bygone days, when hotels were the places for society to be seen. In addition, The Grand has one of the most advanced conference facilities in the south west, accommodating from 4 to 300 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.