We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

room 120,gorgeous view,hotel staff so polite,and the spa staff were great,food was plentiful and tasty,and reception and lobbies were on a grand scale,with chandeliers completing the look,all in all lovely i would definetly be back!!

Room Tip: room 120 balcony sea view and sun loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    372
    185
    118
    60
See reviews for
205
615
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I recently visited this hotel with friends for a 3 night stay during Whitsun week.I had a very good deal on travel republic and also managed to get an upgrade.This hotel is perfectly positioned for direct access for the centre of torquay and its various and varied attractions,(although in our case this consisted of eating and drinking in the local hostelries and restaurants).
The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpfull and the hotel was spotlessly clean.Breakfast food was very good although there was a bit of a hic-cup regarding the plenishment of various items on one day it was soon sorted.Views from the Breakfast room / Restaurant are to die for.
plenty of room in the bar and public lounge areas both inside and outside on the terrace.
Good safe and secure parking available at a very reasonable rate, which was a great plus because as anyone who is familiar with Torquay..or indeed most seaside resorts...will testify that parking can be a bit of a nightmare.
I would strongly recommend this hotel for either a short break or even a one or two week holiday.Our upgraded room on the same level as the restaurant was absolutely fantastic both in size and in content

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in may, after seeng the pictures on the website and making a booking, we were quite disappointed when entering our room, we had paid for a delux double, the room was a bit dated and too be honest that did not bother me but the fact that the room including the balcony was quire dirty, the shower poor and definately not a four star, the views were amazing and the hotel staff were all very friendly and helful, i think if you get the hotel on a deal it would be ok but we paid alot expecting 4 star, and it just is'nt. Location good a short walk to town we did not eat in hotel so can not comment on that. If you are looking for luxury i would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. We had a sea facing room but couldn't use balcony as it was awaiting refubishment, not sure how long it has been "waiting" as there was no evidence of any work being carried out. Rooms are spotless as are the public areas. The big problem with this hotel is the breakfast, it's hopeless. The guy running things is doing his best but he doesn't have enough staff. For a four star hotel I would expect some table service, I think everyone trying to "cook" their own toast and get their own tea and coffee causes more problems than it saves. On both mornings there was a shortage of crockery. People were resorting to having their cooked breakfast in dishes as plates were not available although they had been requested by several guests. Maybe bringing drinks and toast to the table would make better use of staff. That would solve the problem of two members of staff spending 10 minutes trying to get the coffee machines working!!!! Having said that if you can get a good price at this hotel you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First impressions were good as we had a large room with a lovely sea view over the bay. Reception advised us to take an 8.30 dinner because there were a lot of children taking earlier sittings. However at 8.30 we had to stand and wait for 20 minutes before being seated and then wait a further 20 minutes before being shown a menu. The service continued to be very slow due to being understaffed and dinner was not finished until 10.20. The Menu shown at the door was not available at our sitting and replaced with lower quality substitutes. The Maitre d' was offhand and refused to seat us at a window table even when it was available and went unused. Breakfast was even worse with long queues again 20 minutes and many basic food items not available. There were no tea and coffee pots by the time we were seated - we were told to help ourselves from the coffee machine but there were no mugs available until requested. Even plates and cutlery had to be requested as none were available. The foreign waiters/waitresses tried hard but the English management were evidently not supporting them and were very offhand about service issues. The furniture is showing signs of wear and tear. On the plus side the indoor pool and out door pool and lounging areas were excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are large and have a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staff a bit off-hand when we arrived. We were allocated a room which had a most unpleasant smell. Asked reception to help but were told 'There are no other rooms!'. Called the duty manager who came up to check the room and immediately helped us to move to another room - apparently, one WAS available! Curtains were torn and shabby, cupboard dirty inside with layers of dust. Excellent breakfast although the window sill can do with a thorough cleaning. Diningroom had lovely views over the bay but we did not have bedroom with sea view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view but don't expect to get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went to this hotel for the second time as we had such a lovely time previously. However you would never believe you were in the same place!!!! It was our anniversary and after an illness and ongoing chemo we thought it would be nice to relive our initial experience and spend a night away on our own without the 4 children. I booked the break on the puma website on a deal. We booked a room with a balcony as we had done before. The room we booked was a suite and on first glance looked nice although very dated. My husband went for a bath after the drive and i sat and read for about half hour. I decided i would move to the balcony and found it was locked with a note hidden behind the tatty ripped curtains saying balcony out of use due to maintenance. I asked reception who said just because i booked a balcony it does not mean i can use it. After being called a liar and all sorts of other things over my booking we asked to see the manager who also had the same attitude as the young lad on reception. We left the hotel and will NEVER go back again. Lets hope that the staff on that day never have the same treatment they gave me.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are ok if you can use them, check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.