We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Offshore Bar and Restaurant

The Offshore Bar and Restaurant
13-14 Vaughan Parade | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5EG, England
+44 1803 292108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 254 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving the good folk of Torquay, Devon, with the best freshly prepared food, fresh organic coffee, speciality teas, fine wines, beer, and great live music
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our best friends - we were NOT disappointed! We had booked a table for 5.15 for a pre theatre meal, and we were welcomed like VIPs, given a lovely table in the window and had the most amazing food we have tasted in a long while. Try the sharing platter of cold meats, olives, breads as a starter - it was for 2 but could easily go further, and the sea bass and chorizo for main. All gorgeous food and very very good service, you MUST try here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    68
    19
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best value for money meal in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, great value for money, friendly service and warm atmosphere...what more could you ask for. Will go again and will recommend over and over again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sooooo nice to see independant businesses getting it right. We come here alot and have eaten here a few times. Its good, clean, tasty food. you can even see the kitchen through a little hatch and see the chefs working. The musels are the best i have ever had. All the staff have always been polite and freindly and there is always a great buzz about the whole place. The outside seating offers great views over Torquay Harbour and we sometimes stick around for the live music in the evening. Will be back in on bank holiday monday hopefully another great evening... well done..!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had breakfast here twice, nothing too exciting, just a bacon baguette. A little expensive perhaps but it's the best location in town, the views over the harbour are beautiful and you really feel part of Torquay.

A taxi driver told us about the place when we asked him where weas good to go. 'The Offshore is popular with the locals' he said 'They have live music every night'. We saw femail vocalist on Sunday 18th August who was ok (not really my thing though) and two guys called AJ and Elliot on the Monday (19th) who were brilliantly funny.

There is a tall guy who works there, I think his name is Harry, who makes an excellent Long Island iced-tea. I had about six.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We popped in yesterday and ordered breakfast, found it incredibly greasy which was disappointing as the cafe most definitely isnt a greasy spoon.
The other food people were ordering looked nice

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Offshore Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Offshore Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Offshore Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.