We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced tiny attraction” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Torquays Dinosaur World

Torquays Dinosaur World
3 Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BB, England
01803 298779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 30 Attractions in Torquay
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Torquay's Dinosaur World is an exciting indoor exhibition that brings dinosaurs and their worlds to life! See amazing life-size and scaled dinosaurs, learn about their lives, uncover incredible fossils, enjoy our family quiz, get creative in our craft room, and even sit on a dinosaur! Whether you have little dinosaur fans, or even big ones, there's something for everyone to get their teeth into!
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over-priced tiny attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I took my 4 year old and it was 1/2 price but still too expensive for what it is. It's called Dinosaur World and it has great potential but it's squeezed into a tiny retail space about the size of a shop. After less than an hour my son was bored and he loves Dinosaurs!!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit. We realise that our town centre venue at over 3200 sqft may not be the biggest exhibition space, so we focus on the quality of the experience, with high grade made-to-order models with lots of detailed information about dinosaurs, along with fun family quizzes, exciting interactive sections, and dinosaurs to sit on.

At present, we have 12 full size models of varying size, such as African Pterosaur with a 10 foot wingspan next to an 8 foot long 5 foot high Deinonychus, a 15 foot Triceratops, a 12 foot Dimetrodon, and full size fossilised skulls of a T-Rex and Triceratops. In other scenes we have more than a dozen specially handmade scale models of varying size (1-3 feet) so that we can maximise the space to include as many different dinosaurs and as much information as possible.

We constantly update and install new exhibits to keep the exhibition fresh for our repeat visitors, and change things according to feedback from visitors so thanks again for your review, regards Toby T-Rex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    34
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ideal for younger children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This small attraction is a modern(fairly!) version of traditional seaside exhibits. For smaller children it has enough models of dinosaurs, well presented with accompanying activities. The gift shop is well priced. The leaving certificate and souvenir real fossils are very well received.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of visit. I’m glad to hear that you liked the range of dinosaurs and the interactive sections throughout the exhibition. And it seems that your little explorers did well on the Egg Hunt to be awarded Dinosaur Expert Status and receive the fossil, so well done to them! Thanks again, and if you want to add anything further you can post on our Facebook, regards Toby T Rex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ideal for a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Luckily we had a Groupon voucher so cost £11 for 4 of us, I am so glad we had not paid full price as it would not have been value for money, the quiz was very time consuming with 2 children under 6 plus we were not keen on the hard sell of getting the children to sit on the dinosaur for the photo you have to pay for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy visit, in particular that you felt you had to pay for a photo to be able to sit on our dinosaur at the end of the exhibition. This is absolutely not the case. We have a standing policy that visitors can buy a picture if they wish, OR they can take pictures with their own cameras. We want visitors to have a souvenir picture either way. This may not have been clear to you so please accept my apologies. As a gesture of goodwill I can offer you a free visit as well as a free framed photo on the dinosaur. If you wish to accept this opportunity you can email me at info@torquaysdinosaurworld.co.uk. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards Toby T Rex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Somerset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to visit for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visited in April during the Easter egg hunt. My son was in seventh heaven with all the dinosaurs to look at and the quiz helped keep my daughter aged 10, engaged (although she did not like the large spiders!!) Lots for all ages to look at with details for all interests. My husband and I learnt a lot! The children loved being able to sit on some of the exhibits and my son was brave enough to put his head in a T-Rex's mouth! The re-enacted kitchen scene from Jurassic park was also a nice touch. Lots of interactive things for the children to do, like looking for various fossils in sand, a plastic tray of dinosaur figures and a dinosaur craft room. The staff were very friendly and talked to the children about their quiz answers. The certificate and fossils given as a price was a nice touch and the children were given different fossils. A great morning's visit, well worth the money £5.95 each.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit. And I am really pleased to see that your explorers were brave enough to sit on the dinosaur and put their heads in the fossilised skull of the T Rex - definitely worth a Dinosaur Expert Certificate and fossil for that! Congratulations to them. Thanks again, and if you would like to add anything further you can post on our Facebook. Regards Toby T Rex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small but impressive and lovely staff :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We bought the Groupon offer and hadn't been before. We took our 14 month old son, he was more interested in stealing stones from the exhibits, but we both enjoyed reading and exploring the exhibits!

It has a small amount of space to use but it is so well organised and utilised! There is a lot to read and learn. The models are impressive and well made and the Jurassic park scene is fab!

My only criticism is that the quiz (which has some great questions) is a bit spoilt by having the answers given away on posters as you go around (which was pointed out to us before we started!). It's a shame as there is so much to genuinely read and learn which the answers could be embedded in - having them obvious like that means children don't read the actual info for the answers?

That aside, the staff were lovely and we will certainly visit again when our son is older and can appreciate it more :-)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review about your visit. It's great to hear that you took the time to read all the detailed information we have included whilst your son was busy exploring, as we structured the information so that it would be accessible and interesting at different ages. And yes the younger explorers definitely enjoy the sand digs and the stones! Glad you like our models, some of which were hand made to order for the exhibition. And the Jurassic Park scene is proving very popular - and a bit scary! As for the quiz we have tried in the past to incorporate the answers in the information but settled on a format that the majority find the best. Having said that I take on board your point and will trial a more included version for our new quiz due out sometime after Easter. Thanks again and if you want to add anything further you can post on our Facebook, regards Toby T Rex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torquays Dinosaur World also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquays Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torquays Dinosaur World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.