We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Ginger

Green Ginger
Lower Ground Floor, Winter Garden, Fleet Walk, Torquay TQ2 5DZ, England
+44 1803 217960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 266 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a fairly started Weatherspoons pub, albeit a fairly large one. I ate here for both a lunch and evening meal in the past week, both times, the pub was clean and staff seemed fairly quick to clear plates and wipe tables. For the food we had a variety of the meal deals (salad/ hot dog/ chicken Wednesday with a drink) which are always excellent value for money. Never had to wait too long for food or too long at the bar when ordering. A great central stop for a quick meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma G, Manager at Green Ginger, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visits to The Green Ginger and we hope to see you again soon :-)
Kind regards,
Emma
Pub Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    64
    43
    22
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good little boozer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stopped in for a quick pint. And ended up eating friendly quick and to top it off had a monkey out the fruity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma G, Manager at Green Ginger, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Hi, we are so glad you had a good time here at The Green Ginger, hope to see you again soon!
Thank you for the review :-)
Kind regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“My God was it good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The high quality atmosphere along with its excellent serivce gave me and my friends a most joyous time. From the quick and efficient bar service and resonable drinks kept me and my piers at The Green Ginger for a long and most pleasurable time. When we decided to then partake in some lunch we were plesently surprised by yet further economic pricing and what i can only discribe as michelin star meals well worthy of double the price that they were on the menu for. I would also like to add that not only was the food drinks and pricing amazing but the staff themselves could not do enough for me or my friends checking back on the table to make sure we had everything we needed to having an indepth knowledge of the menu its self. i honestly could not of asked for better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma G, Manager at Green Ginger, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Green Ginger and we hope to see you again soon :-)
Kind regards,
Emma
Pub Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly Service, Amazing Food and Brilliant Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Quick and delicious food from the wide variety and cheap menu. Plus friendly and cheery staff, especially in the top section whenever we visit. We visit other Wetherspoons but not many have music which adds to the atmosphere.

However, there are a few regular drinkers who are frequently rude and annoying. Would like something to be done for this.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma G, Manager at Green Ginger, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed it here at The Green Ginger and we hope to see you again soon. In regards to the issues you raised, if there are individuals bothering you on your visits then please let us know so we can sort out any issues and we will be happy to do so.
Thanks again,
Kind regards,
Emma and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome chicken wrap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Often eat breakfast here, great value, friendly staff. Chipotle chicken wrap is amazing too! Large selection of ales, always a plus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma G, Manager at Green Ginger, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Green Ginger and we hope to see you again soon :-)
Kind regards,
Emma
Pub Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Ginger also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Green Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.