We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester Beacon Quay

Harvester Beacon Quay
Beacon Quay | Devon, Torquay TQ1 2RD, England
01803 380 004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 266 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At Harvester Beacon Quay in Torquay food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Torquay, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Ellacombe, Chelston and Shiphay, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I visite alone and expected either a wait to be seated or to be placed in a corner somewhere.

Instead I was given a really nicely positioned table. The service was excellent and the food really good. In fact the meal was too big for me (but I doubt that's really a problem).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Beacon Quay, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Beacon Quay. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    123
    84
    46
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
brixham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“couldnot find a fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

on sat.30th nov.myself and a group of friends met at the harvester for an early christmas get together.have eaten here before and always enjoyed it.meals are excellent value always enjoy the good selection of salad.all staff were helpful,friendly@attentive.we were not rushed to leave our table so we ladies were able to chat away@catch up in comfortable surroundings.we will be back.thank you to all for a lovely lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Beacon Quay, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester beacon Quay. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could Do Better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Visited the local harvester whilst in honeymoon in South Devon.

The food was fine as what you would expect as the harvester norm. However the service lacked somewhat. I noticed that they have started using a mobile phone like device to take your order. The problem being is that they are still tapping away on the screen after they have left the table. So they therefore lack eye contact with any other customers looking for assistance and look as though they are playing on their mobile phone.

In addition to this we seemed to have caught them at a shift change. Because our waiter had finished there appears to be no kind if handover, as we were sat waiting for 25 minutes with dirty used plates on the table before anyone appeared to ask if we wanted anything else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Beacon Quay, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Harvester Beacon Quay. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all customer feedback and are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can and we have written to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“DROP THE "GUYS"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I have visited here many times and have reviewed before.Its a Harvester so we know what to expect.On this visit we noticed that the waiters were now using electronic order pads which took longer for them to take the order than with good old fashioned pen and paper but what is now really grating on us is that the waiters must have been trained to call every one "guys" .We are a mature couple and have been married for 43 years and the last time I looked my wife was definitely not a "guy". Cut out this trendy Americanised c--p ,what`s wrong with "sir" or "madam"

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Beacon Quay, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied in your visit to the Harvester Beacon Quay , and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food and staff helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The service was very good and food nice,plenty of salad and satisfied with the price and value.I would recommend the harvester at Torquay for a relaxed meal and drink and view of harbour .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Beacon Quay, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Harvester Beacon Quay and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester Beacon Quay also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Harvester Beacon Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester Beacon Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.