We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can walk here, but don't” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Drum Inn

The Drum Inn
Cockington, Torquay, England
01803690264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 255 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I can walk here, but don't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I can walk here from where I live but generally don't as in the last 2 years is has gone downhill greatly. Tried it on xmas eve though for a quick drink and snack with the wife. Clearly the management of the pub have lost the plot, lots of people including myself wanted mulled cider, but they had "run out and we are not making any more" at 3.30pm on a rainy xmas eve! Utter madness, it was expensive as it was but to miss out on that opportunity is just sheer poor business. The service when we got a table didn't exist, and the bit of food we did have wasn't up to what I would expect. The waiting staff we conspicuously absent, I think that there were just not enough staff for the day..it was xmas eve, put more staff on! Although they were busy, a busy pub should be managed properly and all customers given good service. A large number of the people sat around us were unhappy for various reasons. When we left there were many people stood by the bar, no-one behind the bar..they were off fiddling with cutlery it seems, and lots of moaning and groaning going on. Sure this was a busy day but hey if a pub manager cannot predict xmas eve in a traditional type pub won't be busy then they shouldn't be there. The phrase "inept" springs to mind.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    123
    65
    70
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What's happened! Old favourite gone bad :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a disappointing experience in a previous favourite pub. The food was nice but service worst I have EVER experienced. Booked a table for a family group of 7 and shown to a table for 6. My son may only be 2 but will not sit on laps all night. Service was v v v slow. Asked to speak to manager after delay meant we were late for a family get together. She apologised that they were busy but the place was half empty. The current staff have NO idea what they are doing and the place should be avoided unless you are happy to spend 2 1/2 hours for 2 courses and then have to wait 20 minutes to pay despite advising staff you were delayed. They looked confused when there was no tip.....my tip stay clear unless management change. They clearly don't read reviews as this is an ongoing issue in reviews.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Manager v rude and stFf need customer service training”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had booked a table and waited an hour got starters an hour later and our mains over 1 hr 20 mins after that. Manager not helpful, wasn't sorry v dismissive and only took £6 off bill, complete joke won't be returning

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth , Devon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Roast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We reserved a table here in advance as we were advised how busy it gets. It was our first visit but the other four members of our party had enjoyed eating here on another occasion.In a lovely setting, the restaurant was very seasonal and cosy with open fires and Christmas trees. We were shown to our table by a window with views of the grounds, our waiter was really friendly and pleasant. After our meals arrived we were asked on several occasions if we needed anything else or if everything was satisfactory, even though the restaurant was busy. There were two large parties in and everyone was catered for very attentively. The food was lovely with freshly prepared vegetables and lovely gravy, well presented. The pudding choices included 'sticky dicky' which we asked about but learned nothing except that there was none left!
Maybe next time!
We all this visit and look forward to the next.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could do better!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Lovely place with open fires and friendly staff but could improve on the food for the price. Also dogs accepted so be prepared if you go with young children. Lovely place for just a drink.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drum Inn also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.