We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity

Serendipity
8 The Terrace, Torquay TQ1 1BN, England
01803 200 710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 255 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a little continental style cake shop in the heart of Torquay
Its always busy and Ive been here twice recently whilst xmas shopping and can honestly say its a real treat

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    20
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Really glad we found it.... we will be back !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Visited on a Saturday afternoon after shopping in Torquay and glad we did ! Although we only had drinks and a homemade cup cake, the food being served looked really good. We sat upstairs because downstairs was full. The place had a good ambience about it and service was friendly. Its not often you see a continental style patisserie in England. Looking forward to our next visit !

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tempting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The window with tempting cakes drew us into this bistro style cafe. We were not disappointed. For coffee and cakes pop in and spoil yourself, there is a menu for more substantial meals if that is required.

There is seating upstairs the we will explore at some future visit.

The staff were helpful and we were served quickly.

We will definately be back again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“superb food and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Thoroughly impressed with the whole experience. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable. The food is freshly prepared at the cafe and was excellent! The fruit ices and gellato are amazing a true taste sensation - also handmade there too! If you are in Torquay a visit is a must

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best coffee outside of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Serendipity is the best thing about Torquay. The coffee is the best coffee I have had outside of Italy. The service is always excellent and friendly, while the cakes, pastries and lunches are all homemade using quality products. And the ice-creams are simply irresistable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendipity also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.