We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elizabeth F” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Save
You added Templestowe Hotel to your Saves list
Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elizabeth F”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel. Staff very friendly,food excellent, entertainment superb .Stayed in a single room which I did not have to pay a supplement for (there aren't a lot of hotels that do this especially in the height of the tourist season]
I have stayed at this hotel many times and will be returning, my thanks go out to all the staff and our coach driver Esmond for their warm and friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool area tend do be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We really do appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experiences. I will pass on your comments to all the staff, who work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests have a great holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    69
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
100
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

By and large the Hotel was okay (you get what you pay for) however bedroom & shower room was excellent, food reminded me of school dinners (some sophistication would'nt go amiss),Liz & her staff brilliant. Smoking should be controlled,tha'ts guests & staff to "Smoking shelter only" not in Doorway ! Driver of Coach 1 (3 night, 27th July) had no social skills whatsoever,on pick up no "hello" "how are you" nothing did'nt even introduce himself ! then on coach No safety announcements re Seat belts,emergency exits,etc no information on arrival time in fact never spoke once. On return from Teignmouth half day he was first to the Bar back at the Hotel ! then today on return exactly the same he never gave any safety information, in fact it spoilt our holiday along with a lot of other guests, really ignorant, unhelpful & unprofessional I'm really saddened & surprised. Majestic obviously don't give a monkeys after they have had your money so for sure we wont be going back.

Room Tip: Yes book into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am happy to hear your positive comments regarding the hotel’s accommodation and staff; however I can only apologise that on this occasion you found the food not to our usual high standards. We offer an extremely good value holiday and all our produce is fresh and all locally sourced where possible.
We have a strict non-smoking policy throughout the hotel, and ask guests with adequate signage to smoke only in the outside shelter we have provided. A small minority choose to ignore this policy, are respectfully asked by available staff to comply and again I can only apologise once again this affected your stay with us.
Majestic Tours are a family owned and run company and have been providing coaching holidays for over twenty-five years and genuinely take an interest in all of their customer’s welfare and holiday experience. I have passed on your comments regarding the driver and Majestic Tours are now dealing with this matter. They have expressed their disappointment to learn of your complaint and will strive to ensure that our guests are satisfied with all aspects of their holiday.
The Templestowe is a second home for many of our guests, whom holiday with us at least six times a year; I hope that you will consider traveling and visiting us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port talot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and i had a great time in the templestowe hotel we booke with short notice as it was my wifes birthday ,The food was of a good standard and the enterainment was relly good and the 99p bar was also a hit with us.Looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor and there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Paul, I am so happy that you had a great time at the Templestowe celebrating your wife’s birthday. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just returned from four night break. Hotel is clean and comfortable, although in need of a little tlc here and there with regard to decoration. Our rooms were spotless, as were the bathrooms which had obviously just been renovated. As we left and doors to other bedrooms were left open, we realised just how lucky we had been. So, obviously some rooms/bathrooms still to be renovated. Food was really good, with a good choice. It was a shame that our waitress spent most of her time talking to one couple at the end of our table who we noticed were always served before us and often had double portions!!! In the end, we helped ourself to another coffee at breakfast as it was never offered, as we noticed it was on other tables. But, having said that, she was very pleasant and helpful when she did serve us.
The entertainment was superb! In fact the entertainment team belonging to the hotel itself was far superior to outside entertainers on the Thursday night. Paul Copley on the Wednesday evening was brilliant. Tickets to Babbacombe Theatre on the Tuesday evening were included and that was a very good evening.
We were disappointed to find the swimming pool closed at 5pm, when we were looking forward to a swim before dinner when we returned from a day out. It was advertised as being open from 7am till 7pm.
We enjoyed our stay and we would recommend this hotel to some people, but it is definitely for over 60's. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
One matter - out of control of hotel - but we hardly slept because of the noise of the seagulls! I think this was worse at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had a good holiday with us enjoying the abundance of entertainment we provide. The show team will be ecstatic to hear your comments as well as the rest of the Templestowe Team, whom all work extremely hard meeting all our guests’ needs.
The swimming pool is open May to September and is open from 7.00 am until 7.00 pm only closed for cleaning during these hours. Had you brought the pools closure to one of the staffs attention, they would have happily opened the pool for you if cleaning had been completed.
By the end of the year we will have completed the refurbishment of all our eighty-seven bedrooms and the rest of the hotel is heavily being invested in which I am sure will enhance your next visit with us. Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Four of us stayed hear for a long weekend and had a great time. The rooms were nice ours was clean and tidy lots of hot water for baths and washing , tea making facility TV only had 5 chanels but I didn't go to watch TV . The food was excelent and so were all the staff and the entertainment was brilliant, couldn't fault any of it had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Linda
Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and will pass on your comments to all of the Templestowe team. We have lots of brand new shows and menus lined up over the next couple of months so I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just got back, thank God! After reading the other reviews I was really looking forward to this break. How wrong can you be! The Hotel is "Nice" rooms spotlessly clean and well serviced. Spotless bathroom and daily maid service, what more could you ask. But the food! well, if you like luke warm/cold food you are in luck. Menu choices were reasonable, always with a fish/vegitarian option, but it was very much "School dinners" Over cooked cabbage, concrete carrots, soggy leek, swede, - need I say more. The starters were very good, though portion size and description of what you actually got, was somewhat misleading. I am sure they have never even heard of "Hot coffee"!
Our coach driver, Esmond, was wonderful, even though he had bronchitis, he did his job without fault, always helpful, polite and well presented.
As for the "In house" entertainment - well, the comedian was good, but the singers were too loud and one poor lady sat near us, with hearing aids, switched them off and then plugged her ears with tissue to block out the noise! Even people in the foyer area were complaining!
Will never do Majestic tours again to Torquay or this hotel. What a let down, glad to get home!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best, if you are on the front of the hotel, you are roadside at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.
At the Templestowe we always strive to provide customers with an enjoyable stay and I am happy to hear that you found our premier rooms comfortable and clean and will pass on your comments to the housekeeping department.
I apologise that on this occasion you found the food below our usual high standards, but be assured that this has been investigated to ensure it does not happen again. We have new menus for next month which again offer high-quality produce will lots of choice for all our guests.
Our entertainment programme offers quality entertainment, our host would have been happy to have adjusted the acts volume if it had been brought to their attention.
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay so thank you again for your review; we sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Templestowe Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

me and my family r going here monday we have gone here now for years we wont go to any other hotel as this hotel allways manages to put on great shows great food in hotel in face everything i had to pick the year on here 4 reviewing as drop down menu wouldent go back to last year. seen some great shows here over the years stagedoor johhnies steve laister dean winters barri b chris chaplin vic morgan really looking 4 ward 2 it the managresss is fantastic and does everything possible to ensure ur catered for looking so 4 ward to monday now cant wait to get back here. the only 1 bug bear i have is going home end of week as i dont want to leave but now its round again im over the moon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Templestowe. We have some great shows lined for the week and I am sure you will have another great holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Templestowe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.