We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clovelly Guest House

Clovelly Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clovelly Guest House
Save
You added Clovelly Guest House to your Saves list
91 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at the clovelly in late 2010-11 for work commitments. It was fantastic, Gill and Peter made me feel very welcome and I would advise anybody looking to stay in Torquay to look at here. The room was lovely and clean, the location very ideal for visitors.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were given a very friendly welcome from Gill when we arrived and shown to a very cosy and well equipped room with all the facilities (comfy bed). Full English breakfast cooked to order but there are continental options. Not too far to the town centre/sea front (£5 by taxi if you don't fancy the walk). Very pleasant stay would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

For a one night stay we were made to feel very much at home. Our Host Gillian was so very friendly & a very funny lady. Well organised, caring and In general a Guest House with good all round quality. We would definitely stay there again. Breakfast cooked to order plus a good selection of continental Breakfast items.
Thank you.
Keith, Kornelia, Nick & Cheyenne.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very warm welcome from the owner Gill, room was clean with good quality bedding. Good quiet location,English breakfast was very nice also continental options available. It was nice being able to help yourselves to tea and coffee for the room. Pleasant stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great price.
Friendly service.
Gill (proprieter) was very welcoming and approachable, felt like we had known her for years.
Room was cosy, nice, clean and tidy and suitably equipped.
Bed was comfortable.
Location about 15 minutes walk to town centre and the same to the sea front.
5 minutes to Torre train station.
Can't rate breakfast as we booked room only.
B&B is on the main road, so can be a littlenoisy at times.
Could help ourselves to teas, coffees etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Upon our arrival at Clovelly guest house we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The rooms were very clean and tidy, and well equipped. The breakfast at Clovelly house was very nice, and cooked to order. We very much enjoyed our stay, and we would definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stunning service from the owner, who was very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed in the room with the four poster bed, which was comfy and well presented, though the bed was a little squeaky. The en-suite was compact, clean and just what you would expect with a great shower. There was a dressing table, a spare single bed and a couple of chairs which were in great condition and suited the room.

The room and guest house was not dated like some other guest houses and had freeview and wi-fi (which seemed pretty speedy).

The room was very warm (we did go on the hottest day of the year) and there was a ceiling fan and a free standing fan provided. The room faced the road, though was not too noisy.

Would highly recommend this guest house as it was everything you expected, great value and with an amazing host.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clovelly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly Guest House

Address: 91 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Clovelly Guest House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clovelly Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.