We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cary Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cary Arms
Save
You added Cary Arms to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Babbacombe Beach | Babbacombe Near, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My Favourite Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We came across the Cary Arms while scuba diving in Babbacombe. Unfortunately we had already booked other accommodation, however did spend a few evenings there for dinner and drinks. Great food and very friendly bar staff, we were even graced with a visit from Sammy the Seal who splashed around for a good hour in the bay.

A fabulous hidden gem! we will definitely be back next summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    72
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
109
268
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Everything you would expect from a PDS hotel - brilliant staff, proactive management, great location and a chef that never let's you down. My wife and I (with our dogs) visited Cary Arms for the New Year, and the experience was so impressive for all of us we have already booked again for next New Year.
If you are looking for great food, friendly staff and somewhere to unwind then look no further.

Room Tip: We chose one of the cottages, which gave you the benefits of the hotel and the privacy and flexibili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just returned from Christmas 3 day break at the Cary Arms. Fantastic hotel and service couldn't be any better. Sloe gin in the room was a very pleasant surprise. We had the Vice Admirals room which overlooked the bay and you could lay in bed and see the sea. All the food was very nice and presentation was also good although breakfast wasn't as 'hearty' as it could have been. Staff were fantastic and Fliss the hotel manager couldn't do enough for us. We met 2 other couples and had a fantastic Christmas dinner and all following meals with them after Fliss changed the seating arrangements at our request. Very special place and we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Vice Admiral room is the best in the hotel with loads of space and great views but only has a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just had two days at the Cary Arms, not enough. It was just so chilled and just what we needed. Right from the start we were welcomed ! The staff are really friendly and seem happy in their work. Location is just delightful we loved our room and terrace so nice to sit and listen to the sea...cold but really worth it. Our room had one of the most comfy beds I've ever had in a hotel plus great pillows and the hot water bottle was a great touch.

Food was excellent only very very slight negative was that the chairs in the restaurant seem to high for the tables find yourself leaning downwards bit uncomfortable. However the rest of the hotel more than makes up for this and residents lounge is very cosy in front of the fire.

If you have trouble walking up steep hills probably best not to tackle the walk to Babbacombe but worth it if you can. Will return in the summer.

Room Tip: We were in the Vice Admiral great views lovely terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have just returned from our Christmas at the Cary Arms. A wonderful three day Festivities package. Three couples, an infant and two dogs all very comfortably installed in Beach Cottage with every available comfort and luxury on hand.
The location and views were stunning, the Inn beautiful, warm and welcoming. We had the luxury of our own privacy and comfort in our cottage combined with the availability of the facilities of the Inn a few steps away. The meals were amazing, choices to suit everyone all served with real care and attention. The staff were lovely and the atmosphere was relaxed. The dogs were welcomed, fussed over and catered for, ours would recommend the £5 doggy dinner of pork and rice for a special treat.
We need to return in the Summer to explore all the coastal walks and beaches which are right on the doorstep.
We recommend it highly, even the steep hill which tested our driving skills, didn't dent our enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and needed to take our 17 yr old spaniel so opted for the "doggy getaway" rather than the "romantic hideaway experience". My husband was not thrilled at the prospect of sharing a room with the dog, so it was a relief to have the dog-bed in the bathroom (tiles too slippery for an ancient dog but better than carpet with muddy paws).

We received a warm welcome. Had a romantic dinner in "The Pod" and an excellent supper in the pub the next night. We stayed in The Rear Admiral which had a great view - we stood and watched a dolphin from our balcony and you can't better that!

The minor drawback to the room was the bathroom, small bath with large shower head. At 6ft tall My head touched it and at 6ft5" my husband whacked his ( the bath plug would not stay in so couldn't use the bath instead).

Any minor niggles were far outweighed by the setting and outstanding service and hospitality from every member of the team. The steak and ale pie and sticky toffee pudding were excellent.

We will definitely return to try the romantic break without the dog....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very pleased to my girlfriend here to pop the question, virtually excellent all round. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The setting is perfect and the rooms are worth the money.
The only thing I found that let it down for the price your paying is the chairs in the bar stroke dining area are rather uncomfortable.
Although this could have been me, however this would not stop me from wanting to return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cary Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Arms

Address: Babbacombe Beach | Babbacombe Near, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cary Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, boutique inn by the de Savary Family in the unrivalled location of Babbacombe Bay. 8 Contemporary, New-England style bedrooms with outstanding sea-views & 4 restored fisherman's cottages for rental. The very best of creative, seaside gastro-inn dining focusing on local, seasonal ingredients in an informal and relaxed setting. Great for families & dog friendly. Hearty breakfasts, long lunches and lazy suppers indoors or out on the sun-terraces. Sheltering in its own un-sung part of the South Devon Coast, the English Riviera, the inn is accessible by water and has its own moorings. Spa treatments & massage available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cary Arms Hotel Torquay
Cary Arms Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cary Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.