We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and restful - looked after by great people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cary Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cary Arms
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Babbacombe Beach | Babbacombe Near, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Yon-Ka Spa Retreat
Ranked #49 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
kenley
1 review
“Comfortable and restful - looked after by great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having survived the terror of the roller coaster type approach road - we were soothed by the gracious welcome and natural friendliness of all of the Cary Arms team . They provided a restful haven with tasty food and good wine and we left refreshed and new fans of an unique experience inspite of the weather not being great .

Room Tip: seaview - rear admiral was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    64
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
94
229
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Cary Arms is a very special place not only for its superb location looking over Babbacombe Bay but also because of the lovely rooms, staff and food. We were warmly greeted by the staff upon arrival and made to feel very welcome indeed. Lucy and Felicity were so genuinely friendly and really made us feel welcome. Our car was then parked up the hill by Felicity and we were escorted to our lovely sea view room, The Rear Admiral. It was a lovely bright room with its own little terrace with 2 chairs overlooking the Bay. The room was clean and tidy and decorated in a nautical theme but very comfortable and has a large bath.
The bed was very comfortable and we were right at home. Loved the iPod dock sound system - we love having a bit a music if we can. Brilliant radio/speaker system.

We had booked the Autumn Gastro package which included dinner at the Arms one night and dinner at the Elephant Restaurant - 10 min drive at most - another night. We enjoyed the Elephant and its Michelin style food presentation but to be quite honest we enjoyed out dinner at the Cary Arms more. It is a very homely atmosphere with the conservatory ( which must be fantastic in summer when the doors can be open to the sea) and the main dining/pub area with a glowing fireplace this time of year.
Our breakfasts each day were lovely and cooked to perfection.

Anything we asked for or had a question about was not too much to ask. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with a smile on their faces. This is something hard to find in many places.

All in all a stunning location and a great get a way for the weekend. The garden is beautiful with plenty of tables and there is a private garden for sunbathing for guests - we need to return in the summer!

Room Tip: Any with a sea view will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Everything I expected it to be and more! Amazing views, lovely terraces, wonderful food, and dog friendly too. We even had sunshine for our stay here. The staff were all very welcoming and made our stay special. Our two black labs have come home exhausted, after swimming in the sea and exploring the area. I will definitely go back when we can afford it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Cary Arms has been on my wish list for a while. The boutique hotel has an idyllic waterside location in a very peaceful part of S Devon. The staff were fantastic. Friendly and helpful. The Captain's Room has two bedrooms and a wonderful terrace with stunning views. We dined in the restaurant and found the food delicious. Great menu offering fresh fish and local produce. We were so lucky with the weather as it was sunny and balmy, but I am sure that even on a rainy day the hotel would be warm and welcoming. Location, location, location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Cary Arms in Babbacombe is a delightful getaway for the whole family, including the dog! Our hound, a Labrador, felt herself to be at home from the moment she arrived with the dog treats served in the room to a gourmet dog's bowl at dinner! The walks around the coastal path are delightful and the staff were friendly and attentive. A wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a very friendly pub which is also a hotel and what I like too was that all the staff we met were English which makes a great change. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and smiled. They allow dogs which gives a lovely homely feeling too. We had a delicious dinner. The breakfast could do with some improvement. Cheap orange juice and I would say not free eggs. The rooms are comfortable and we enjoyed our one night stay. I would point out that I think it would be difficult for people with walking issues. The car park up the very steep hill was a nightmare. Someone had parked very close to me and it took a while to get the car out and then there is the issue of turning into a very narrow space to go down to the hotel to collect the bags. But the views and clean air were a delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here the night after we got married. What a fabulous place. The accommodation was so comfortable and the views from our little terrace were amazing. It was just a shame it was raining. We had a 3 course dinner on the evening and breakfast on day of departure and the food was exceptional. Would definitely like to go back one day, hopefully with a bit of sunshine though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cary Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Arms

Address: Babbacombe Beach | Babbacombe Near, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cary Arms 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, boutique inn by the de Savary Family in the unrivalled location of Babbacombe Bay. 8 Contemporary, New-England style bedrooms with outstanding sea-views & 4 restored fisherman's cottages for rental. The very best of creative, seaside gastro-inn dining focusing on local, seasonal ingredients in an informal and relaxed setting. Great for families & dog friendly. Hearty breakfasts, long lunches and lazy suppers indoors or out on the sun-terraces. Sheltering in its own un-sung part of the South Devon Coast, the English Riviera, the inn is accessible by water and has its own moorings. Spa treatments & massage available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cary Arms Hotel Torquay
Cary Arms Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cary Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cary Arms to your Saves list