We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cary Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cary Arms
Save
You added Cary Arms to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Babbacombe Beach | Babbacombe Near, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gastro Getaway
Ranked #56 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have only stayed once, but I will certainly be back again soon. The room was clean, the staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was delicious and the little touches were amazing. I have fallen in love with this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    72
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
110
268
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a treat for all of us my husband daughter and granddaughter a chance find on the internet . What a wonderful place cannot wait to get back there everything was just perfect and every member of staff could not do enough for us and especially helpful with our 22month old granddaughter and her requirements nothing was too much trouble . The weather was also good I cannot rate it highly enough one down side was the climb up the hill but the exercise did us good we will be back thank you for a lovely stay

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear 'sallyj'

Thank you on behalf of the de Savary family for staying with us we all enjoyed having you stay here, I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks

Matt & all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have stayed here twice; a couple of years ago just my husband and myself; the second time with our 7 month old Labrador. On both occasions the service was very efficient and extremely friendly, the rooms very clean and comfortable (with a dog's bed, bowl and treats for our trip with the dog) and the food tasty and served promptly, including the dog's dinner which she wolfed down. The location is perfect with super views from just about every room and outdoor seat. All in all, nothing to fault, and everything to praise.

Room Tip: Commodore on the ground floor is quiet with great views. Commander is a dog-friendly room with a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear 'Kay B'

Thank you so much for your review, I'm so pleased you and your gorgeous Labrador enjoyed your short stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt & all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Dont bother to check out anywhere else in the area just go here. There is nothing about this place that you wont like. The food is great and just what you need, not pretentious and arrogant, just quality and tasty. The rooms are great but the views are killer. Waking up to the 270 degree view of the sea and bay is breathtaking.

JUST GO!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear 'spacolour'

Thank you so much your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review with my team who wholeheartedly agree about the view!

Many thanks

Matt & all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed couple of nights. Staff were polite and helpful and could not have done enough for us. Views are to die for especially if you get seals in the harbour! A real beauty spot even in Winter if you can get in. Rooms well appointed, clean and comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Four of us visited today
The food quality was really excellent, very tasty, well presented and well cooked. Only minor critique would be a few more veg with the mains would make this outstanding
Service was quick and efficient
Location is unbeatable, inside or out
Otter beer is perfect

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful week at the Cary Arms and have already recommended it to family and friends. Shell Cottage was perfect for our needs, the location is lovely, the service we received was excellent and we enjoyed the food and spa. Our dog appreciated the dog friendly touches.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cary Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Arms

Address: Babbacombe Beach | Babbacombe Near, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cary Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, boutique inn by the de Savary Family in the unrivalled location of Babbacombe Bay. 8 Contemporary, New-England style bedrooms with outstanding sea-views & 4 restored fisherman's cottages for rental. The very best of creative, seaside gastro-inn dining focusing on local, seasonal ingredients in an informal and relaxed setting. Great for families & dog friendly. Hearty breakfasts, long lunches and lazy suppers indoors or out on the sun-terraces. Sheltering in its own un-sung part of the South Devon Coast, the English Riviera, the inn is accessible by water and has its own moorings. Spa treatments & massage available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cary Arms Hotel Torquay
Cary Arms Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cary Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.