We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful retreat with thoughtful attention to detail at all levels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cary Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cary Arms
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Babbacombe Beach | Babbacombe Near, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Yon-Ka Spa Retreat
Ranked #49 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
woking
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful retreat with thoughtful attention to detail at all levels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in the depths of winter. An atmospheric location although the town itself is rather bleak so we stayed put which was no bad thing.
Very good locally sourced menu. Perhaps vary the menu a little more at weekends for those who stay more than one night?
Very thoughtful attention to detail in service and the rooms, and efficient staff who were just the right balance of friendly without being too 'full on'. We will be recommending and returning again to The Cary Arms

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear ‘JulietWoking’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your winter break with us.

Ben our Head Chef loves working with local produce, we change the specials daily and we continually work on new dishes within the seasons.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If however your looking for an alternative you may wish to try The Old Swan & Minster Mill in the Cotswolds our Sister Hotel owned by the de Savary family that shares the same sort of touches & values as us.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    64
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
94
229
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in Shell Cottage part of the Cary Arms and had a thoroughly memorable stay. From the moment we arrived the service we experienced from Matt and his team was excellent. All staff were incredibly helpful and the cottage very well appointed. Even our two dogs were made to feel extra special with beds and treats put out for them on arrival!

The treatments we received at the day spa from resident therapist Lisa were some of the best we have received and Lisa was very accommodating of my pregnancy offering me an alternative treatment which was very much appreciated.

All the meals we took in restaurant were excellent, the fresh fish especially so.

Defiantly worth a re visit and if you have yet to go book in soon, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The self catering cottages are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear ‘Sinead M’

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review on behalf od the de Savary family. I’m really pleased you both and your dogs enjoyed your break with us in Shell Cottage.

My team look forward to welcoming you back to our idyllic part of the Devon Coast in the near future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Outstanding from start to finish!

Excellent customer service. A very warm welcome from Matt and his staff. Immediately felt relaxed and valued. All the staff were polite and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

We stayed in the Captains room which was amazing and a very special treat. It's has a large hallway with a kitchen area with sink and fridge. Excellent selection of teas and coffees and wonderful to see a fresh jug of milk in the fridge, rather than the nasty uht milk containers. Large very clean bathroom with great amenities. Then two large double bedrooms. The main bedroom has a fantastic terrace with seating overlooking the bay. In the summer this must be a great way to end an evening. It was all the little touches that impressed me and made this special. A decanter of drink to help yourself to, homemade fudge and biscuits, turn down service with a hot water bottle, robes and crisp white sheets and comfy bedding. You can lay in bed and have the window open looking out to sea.

Lovely lounge with a fire for residents to use, with a selection of books, magazines, games and a billiard table. This overlooks the sea and views beyond, perfect to relax in. I made use of the spa facilities and had a facial. Again, excellent service and very enjoyable, albeit a little pricey.

The bar and restaurant were outstanding and the food of very good quality. Breakfast again was very relaxed and very good choices of fresh tasty food. You weren't made to feel rushed and everything was topped up and kept fresh.

It was lovely to leave the car for 2 days and just enjoy what the hotel, bar and restaurant had to offer, chill out in the lounges, enjoy walks in the surrounding areas, and walk along the beach.

My only niggles would be, and this definitely wouldn't stop me returning, but is worth mentioning, is to check your bill before you leave. We had put all our drinks and food on a tab, and it was only when we got home and checked the bill properly did we see we had had someone else's drinks added to our bill! Next time I would pay as I go! Also this is a dog friendly hotel which is fantastic, but thought £20 a night to be quite expensive, just to provide a dog bed and bowl, when most owners would bring their own. Infants are however free!

Room Tip: Don't bring your dog, and then you might get an upgrade! Ask for a room with a terrace or balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear ‘luv2holidayinthesun’

Wow thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I’m so pleased you felt relaxed whilst staying here and have had the chance to experience all the little touches. Without doubt, the hospitality is the overriding essential quality and it was a pleasure to meet you both, please give me a call so we can refund the items incorrect on your bill.

We look forward to many more visits and, of course, don't forget that you can experience more of the de Savary hospitality at the Old Swan & Minster Mill in the Cotswolds.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went for Mother's Day and it was brilliant from start to finish. Despite a full house the food was superb, well-cooked and well served by very attentive and efficient staff. All this plus wonderful views made it a perfect mother's day.
We live just across Torbay and will be back soon. Easter sounds favourite.
Don't take my word for it read the reviews on here and go A.S.A.P.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear ‘JeffRamsell’

Thank you on behalf of the de Savary family for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your Mothers Day Lunch with us, I have shared your kind comments with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks

Matthew Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My first visit in over 20 years taking my 92 year old Mum for Mothers Day lunch. We enjoyed a fixed price menu of £25 per head with a good choice of starter, main course and desert. I had an excellent home made soup, followed by roast beef. Mum had salmon followed by roast pork. Outstanding service, relaxed ambiance and a very enjoyable experience. Will return when back in the Bay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Roger M

We are delighted to read your review. Thank you on behalf of the de Savary family for taking the time to let us know you and your Mother enjoyed the Mothers Day treat with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Matthew Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My mother bought us the Sunday night sleepover package they offer off-peak. When we arrived we were a couple of hours early but the room was already prepared and were welcomed into it straight away. The package includes Devon cream teas and scones in the afternoon before dinner but we had a light lunch before that anyway which was of great quality and ready in absolutely no time! We stayed in the Fleet Admiral room which includes sea views from two different angles, a balcony AND terrace with outdoor seating, large freeview television and a big bathroom with bath and shower. This one is widely regarded as the best room and we'd really recommend it. The guest lounge was beautiful and full of lovely furniture, with of course sea views through large windows, lots of books on offer and a few board games, all in front of a nice, hot gas fire. So despite cold and blustery weather we could enjoy the views from the cosy inside after a stroll, we did venture out I promise! There are some loevly footpaths around the cove. Only three rooms were filled while we were there so it was very peaceful and quiet.

The restaurant also has an open wood-burning fire, rustic walls and furniture and a really cosy but still airy feel. The food was excellent; I had a starter of pork medallions with apple sauce, balsamic reduction and salad, roast duck with mash and asparagus and redcurrent jus for main. My partner had loevly fresh scallops to start and steak, veg and chips for main. We both had vanilla creme brulee! All was beautiful, and the three courses were also included in the package. We had some more time in the lounge where the lovely staff checked if we'd like drinks and brought them over. While we were at dinner the staff had been in to turn down the bed, replenish the sticks of rock on the pillows (a lovely touch I thought!) and even popped a lovely hot water under the covers! Very impressed indeed, though they managed to keep the hotel perfectly warm even in the zero degree temperatures anyway.

We had a wide choice of breakfast in the morning, again, all included in this package. There was a small buffet and toast to help yourself to and full English breakfasts, pancakes, porridge etc to order.

The staff were absolutely brilliant and couldn't do enough for you. They were ready to help with bags whenever they could and to make sure we had everything we could want, with massive smiles on their faces really loving what they do.

They have a spa centre but we didn't use it so can't comment but if we can return I will definiely be using it.

I really recommend this gorgeous seaside hotel, thankyou Cary Arms for lovely short stay!

Room Tip: The Fleet Admiral is generally considered to be the highest quality room, we had this one and the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you on behalf of the De Savary family for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, I have passed on your kind comments to all of our team.

I’m really pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, we do are very best to ensure you feel relaxed during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks

Matthew Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this exceptional place - location outstanding, room outstanding, food outstanding...and topped by a fantastic team who make the real difference here - they were all without exception incredibly friendly, extremely efficient and professional and managed to make us feel like we were staying with friends. One of the best places of its kind we've ever stayed in - and can probably teach the Swan and Minster Mill a couple of things! Thanks to Matt and his team for making our stay hugely enjoyable.

Room Tip: We booked the Captain's suite which has two bedrooms, a large hall with coffee/tea masking facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear 'Redbaron4'

Thank you on behalf of Lana De Savary and all the team for such a lovely review, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future next time you are down this way.

Matthew Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cary Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Arms

Address: Babbacombe Beach | Babbacombe Near, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cary Arms 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, boutique inn by the de Savary Family in the unrivalled location of Babbacombe Bay. 8 Contemporary, New-England style bedrooms with outstanding sea-views & 4 restored fisherman's cottages for rental. The very best of creative, seaside gastro-inn dining focusing on local, seasonal ingredients in an informal and relaxed setting. Great for families & dog friendly. Hearty breakfasts, long lunches and lazy suppers indoors or out on the sun-terraces. Sheltering in its own un-sung part of the South Devon Coast, the English Riviera, the inn is accessible by water and has its own moorings. Spa treatments & massage available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cary Arms Hotel Torquay
Cary Arms Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cary Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cary Arms to your Saves list