We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
The Heritage Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Sea Front | Sheddon Hill, Torquay TQ2 5TY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have just returned after a stay of 2 nights for a spring break and what a lovely stay we had at the Heritage. For the price you shouldn't expect the Ritz but what you do get is a lovely, clean and fully equipped room, due to a slight oversight with our 1st room we were immediately upgraded to a better room which we loved and had an amazing view over the bay. Even with the building work across the road we were not disturbed by noise often not realising they ad started or finished. The breakfast is one of the best I have had with plenty on offer and nothing to much trouble which appears to be the ethos for all the staff who were courteous, polite and eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible, 1st class guys. For a hotel of this size the facilities are good on site you have a fitness suite, sauna, Jacuzzi and indoor pool as well as a popular bar and restaurant with a good value menu. Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer but you can bet we'll be back, had a great time thank you for making it such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    57
    19
    15
    14
See reviews for
16
56
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Heritage hotel doesn't know if its a hotel or nightclub. Room small looking out on a main road and brick wall. Music too loud playing till 1 in the morning then had too listen to yobs fighting outside our window only good thing breakfast and staff that served it

Room Tip: Don't expect too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us here at The Heritage Hotel in Torquay, it is unfortunate that you were given a non sea facing room, I can only imagine we were fully booked as our non-sea view rooms are always sold last as we understand what an impression looking out to sea has on our guests, with regards to the loud music our bar closes at midnight and all music is turned straight off. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast and how it was served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Booked very late (2 hours before arriving) yesterday, and found a great, clean and airy room. The price of £40 includes breakfast, which was excellent and was served by the most courteous and friendly staff outside of the US hotels I normally visit...... absolutely outstanding.

I have stayed here before, and see no reason to try anywhere else for a 'bed and breakfast' visit to Torquay. You wll not go wrong with this one!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Very nice words, very much appreciated. hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Bit of a dilemma here. Really low cost hotel, friendly staff, really nicely furnished rooms, but they are having to work with a building that seems to have been built on the cheap (thin walls, wooden floors).

I had to sleep with ear plugs due to all the noise everywhere (cars outside, man walking backwards and forwards in room above, TV in next room, someone singing in corridor).

I would say that if you are young and on a tight budget this is a really good place to stay but if an oldie like me, spend a bit more and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go on top floor to avoid the noise of people who seem to like walking backwards and forwards on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for noticing our pleasant bedrooms and good staff something we work hard on, we would like to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

What a lovely visit to this quaint hotel, everything was perfect , staff couldnt be more helpful, excellent food and drink bargains, would definitely stay again. Unfortunately all around the hotel there was building work going on, so whatever window you looked out you saw rubbish everywhere or a crane and scaffolding.
Oh and if you do stay here make sure that UKIP arnt holding there conference in town, as the lot that stayed here spoilt it for everyone .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I'm glad the building work around us on other sites didn't affect your opinion of your stay. its nice to hear that everything was perfect for you and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel we had a sea view wonderful. in need of lick of paint but spotlessly clean but staff cannot do enough for you. Hearty breakfast full English plus plenty more on offer would recommend this hotel to anyone Barbara Dunn

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed February 2014, on arrival found car park full, it seems that the leisure centre attached to the hotel shares the moderately sized car park and I had to double park until a space became available (about 6pm) No one on reception for 15 minutes,it turns out she (the duty mangeress) was helpng a guest set up a tv, however when she did appear she was extremely helpful and apologetic.Room 8 was of a good standard, quite big with a very modern bathroom,sadly the sea view was partiall obscured by an ongoing building project. food choice and quality was good in a very lively restaurant. Staff were pretty much faultless, would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a double and single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for being understanding and patient whilst you had a short wait upon check-in. We're glad this didn't spoil your stay with us, we would like to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Address: Sea Front | Sheddon Hill, Torquay TQ2 5TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.